Local News News Lords of Kaiso thrill St Philip Barbados Today02/12/20230393 views “Bim, I love you. Bim, I am proud of you.” The opening lines of Dr Stedson RPB Wiltshire’s patriotic song were met with loud cheers as the beloved veteran of calypso appeared at Soca Goes Gold on Wednesday night. The concert was staged on the eve of Independence Day at the new Wyndham Grand Barbados Sam Lord’s Castle Resort and Spa, St Philip. The evening of calypso kings was a jam-packed, standing-room-only show. The audience rose and surged to the front of the stage when RPB, beloved ‘King of St Philip’, emerged. His scintillating set ranged from social commentaries Mr Harding, De Country Aint Well and What Kind of World to party favourites Spontaneous, Something’s Happening and Boatride. The cheers peaked when RPB was joined on stage by Mac Fingall for their megahit Ragga Ragga. With a lineup of former monarchs, it is a hard task to select just one stand-out moment. Each performer showed their star quality as they provided a snapshot of their kaiso careers. Classic’s set included Coffee, In Bed Together, Conscience, Tell Dem Calypsonians and One Song. Starting with his debut material in the calypso arena, Mr Blood included Sport Billy, Mistakes and Speak My Mind. The consummate performer drew on his Square One days for Plumber and Pussy Cat. Extempo exponent Adrian Clarke showed off his quick wit as he dropped bars on some audience members. Looking dapper in a crisp white suit, his vocals were on point. With offerings including Nice Time, Soca You, Judgment Day, Put Dat in Your Song and Anansi, he excited attendees. Senator John King returned to his entertainer roots, taking control of the stage. He energised the crowd serving up a sweet mix from his extensive catalogue. From Fool’s Paradise, I’m Back to I’m Calypso, the crowd loved it all. He heated them up with Sexcellent, Wreck Ah Bumper, and Jump and Wave. King even threw back to his Johnny Ma Boy days with I Want a Plantation and Tribute to the Skipper. Reigning Calypso Monarch Ian iWeb Webster rallied through his recovery from the flu with Still My Home, Karaoke, Salesman, and his most recent title-winning track Brain. Among the veterans was Serenader, who pleased with Soca Coup, Steel in Dey, Breakdown and Juck Fuh Juck. ‘The General’ – Edwin Yearwood – did what he does best, as he pumped up the audience with Oba and Sak Passe, then further thrilled with Home Sweet Home, Voice in My Head and Something Greater. The show proved to be one giant sing-along session for calypso lovers. The incomparable icon, Gabby, led the top-class showing with crowd-pleasers like Culture, Calypso, Hit It, Dr Cassandra, Jack, and Boots. As the crowd exited the venue around 1 a.m. on Independence Day, there were murmurs of appreciation for a show well done. (STT)