Kid Site goes viral judging night

Camera Man
De Announcer
Franswaa
Kinky Star
Mr G

ifteen hopefuls from Carter’s Shining Stars Calypso Tent vying for a place in the Pic-O-De-Crop finals, faced the third installment of judging last Thursday night at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex. Standing out among them was four-time monarch Kid Site.

He impressed the audience with his witty lyrics, clear diction and the sweet melody of Viral, the selection which dealt with people’s propensity for using their phones to record the distresses others face daily and posting them online, rather than making an effort to offer a helping hand.

Another impressive performer was Grenada-born Mr G with Say Something in which he pleaded with citizens to report to the authorities what they knew about a crime. The message was that their actions might assist one individual today and also save themselves the next. It was a very thought-provoking offering.

Veteran Kinky Star was in fine voice with Show Us You Really Care. The medium-tempo song, among other things, looked at the lamentation of people who make political decisions with their ’X’ and then wish they could change after the resulting disappointments.

RS Cyclone doing Who Are Them and Franswaa with Conflict Of Interest both delivered political commentaries that looked at the relationship between politicians and the people before and after the election. The suggestion was that the politicians seldom lived up to the expectations of the people.

De Announcer examined the number of political leaders who would have held office in Barbados in his number “PMs” and deduced that Errol Walton Barrow was the best of them. His time on stage was well spent.

In his turn before the judges, Camera Man did a tribute to Ninja Man who is presently incarcerated, while tent manager Lady Virtue did Barbados We Cry and Empress B delivered Race To The Bottom. Others appearing on judging night were Mr Reason with Competition, Mama Africa doing Solution To Gun Violence, Archie rendering Don’t Stop It, veteran performer Jah Stone with Something Wrong, Jude with Diplomatic Passport and Lady J with Labels. N’Kyla doing Run Away and Lil E with Flash It Inna E provided the foot-stomping party music for the night.

One of the surprise highlights of the night was Trinidad and Tobago’s 2018 Calypso King and now Senator Helon Francis doing Feel Like We and Representing We.

Bringing the night’s entertainment to a rousing climax was Mikey doing his Feting Family. He was later joined by Mr Blood as the duo renderedthe popular Heart Of De Party. (CW)

Related posts

‘AC’ call for return of two Crop Over events

Culture leaders challenge Govt’s view of Crop Over success

Minister defends Crop Over 50 amid criticism

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy