And teach we.

We both sought

employment early.

I headed for the sea

You opted for the land.

With success at

COLE’S PRINTERY

We both bought bikes.

But yours was always in pristine condition.

No rain or mud

Could dare alter the prime

Of its condition.

I remember one day the rain was heavy,

The scene was outta sight,

You lifted your transportation saying……..

‘Dah mud can’t touch my bike’!

You were always

The best dressed boy;

Richard Stoute

A close second place.

You walked with comb,

And brush,

And polish;

White powder

Fuh you face.

A part in your head

Was never absent.

In school in those old days

You won the prize

For best Attendance.

You were great

In so many ways.

While I enjoyed my dialect

Your english was Plue Perfect!

Your never had one dog ear

Your manners were Gigantic!

It was you

Who

Encouraged me

To join de Calypso Fray.

You went head on

In sixty three.

Sixty five

I made my play.

When I look back now,

I admit

We must have been so crazy,

Or brave and bold.

A teen of

Fifteen was all of your age

Great Romey!

We rubbed shoulders

With an icon

Like Sir Don

And Sugar too!

Charmer,

Lord Sivers,

And of course

Dragon

Was in de brew.

We headed for Westbury Road

To date Pat and Cecily –

Two cousins

Who Gabby and Romey

Loved,

Cherished,

And marry!

You gave me my first ever suit

To sing in competition.

When the results

Came back that night

I first

You in second Position!

To tell de trute Romey,

Your face dat night

Didn’t look too cute.

You cried and say

I didn’t beat You

You lost to your own Suit!

Next morning early

You came by me

Apologised purfusely

De smile and hug you gave me

Stays with me eternally.

We built Battleground Tent together –

You

Sir Don,

And Viper,

Herring,

Dragon,

Serenader,

Destroyer,

And Grynner.

Madd,

With Eric Lewis leading

Made de shows so tight.

Classic and Pawn,

Gorgie and Cubba,

Brekin down de place

Evva night.

Yes Serrie

Is an original Battleground man fuh true.

Another surprise

Open wunna eyes

Adonijah too!

Every morning

Charlie

You would send me

Inspiration,

Whatsapp messages galore

Most for meditation.

You refused to let your sickness

Break your bubbly Spirit.

You the cheerful giver

Made sure you gave me All of it.

Now Charlie

Your journey on this earth

Has been complete.

Just like most artistes

Some of it bitter

And some sweet.

But your friendship and advice

Was PRECIOUS

I Can’t Deny.

It is so PRICELESS

I’LL OWE YOU

UNTIL THE DAY I DIE!

Rest in Peace(your favourite word) my dear brother.

I love you and will always miss you.

Written by

Dr Anthony Gabby Carter

Barbados Today

Barbados Today is the leading news service in Barbados. Founded in January 2010, with the mission to keep you informed, we aim to share news on matters of national interest, raise the level of public debate and help our readers make informed decisions in their daily lives. We do this by building confidence in our content through consistency. We strive for accuracy, accountability and maturity in our reporting at all times.

View Comments

Recent Posts

Motorcyclist suffers head injuries in collision with car

A motorcyclist suffered serious head injuries in a collision at the intersection of Drax Hall Road and Greens Road,…

1 hour ago

Police investigate an unnatural death

Police are investigating the unnatural death of Shamar Rojoe Bascombe of Hannay's Valley, Windsor, Christ Church. Lawmen say Bascombe was…

1 hour ago

Caribbean, a laboratory for climate change, says WFP

UNITED NATIONS, CMC –  The United Nation’s World Food Programme (WFP) has described Latin America and the Caribbean as “a laboratory…

3 hours ago

It’s not business as usual, says Minister Kirk Humphrey

A changing economic environment, coupled with the effects of climate change, will require every Barbadian citizen to adapt to a…

3 hours ago

West Indies beat India to level T20 series at 1-1

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, India (AFP) –  Opener Lendl Simmons struck an unbeaten 67 as West Indies beat India by eight wickets in the second Twenty20 international on Sunday…

5 hours ago

QEH executive chairman outlines plans to transform hospital

By Anesta Henry Executive Chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland has outlined a ten-point plan to transform…

6 hours ago