After more than a year of battling colon cancer, actor and popular emcee Antoine Williams is reporting that his disease is now in remission.
Williams, who is affectionately referred to as Brudda Daddy, broke the news today during the launch of a non-communicable disease (NCD) awareness project founded by Miss Barbados World Ashley Lashley.

“I only recently got the news that I am now a cancer survivor, having undergone a year and some months of treatment. I was diagnosed with stage four colon cancer, which meant that it had spread from one organ to another and in my case it was the liver. So I was really lucky,” said Williams, who underwent surgery last June, which along with treatment, cost close to $200,000.
Williams attributed his recovery to living a stress free life as well as the outpouring of support which he received after he took the public into his confidence over his illness.
“Beyond the medical attention, mental aptitude and positive attitude would make a difference. I believe that when you allow stress to overcome you then it fights against any success medically.
“Your body is going through a lot of stress and shock and you have to be mentally prepared to accept what is taking place while preparing oneself mentally to fight it,” he said, emphasizing that he did not regret the decision to forego his privacy in order to share the journey with Barbadians.
“I made my illness public because of my public profile and I felt it necessary to let Barbadians know what is happening. In our small society, you can’t really hide anything. The groundswell of support really was amazing and it had the double reward of boosting other persons.
“I had persons come to me and thank me for letting people know. In Barbados we tend to live with our secrets as far as sickness is concerned. However, when we share, you find that it is a boost for a lot of people,” Williams explained.
During his illness, Williams’ fellow artistes stepped up by organizing several charity events to assist with his medical bills.
Sade Leon Slinger-Folkes, Anthony Admiral Nelson, Eleanor Rice-Watson and Stedson Red Plastic Bag Wiltshire were the principals behind the initiative.
Today Williams extended thanks to all those who encouraged and supported him during his time of need.
This is a very good news story. I am extremely HAPPY for you Mr.Williams, even though I’ve never met you personally. But I do absorb your various broadcasts and appreciate your contributions to events in our beautiful island. You have a lot to thank God for always remember that.
Really now!!!
Dont fool yuhself.
Tell me that in another 6 months to a year.
I’m happy to read of the good news that you have fought the battle and one. It’s great new to all of those suffering the same fate and that hope and determination to over this illness and be able to tell a great story of being now in remission, to all those who helped in making it possible to cover your expenses , my deepest respect for a job well done… I wish many great years of good health.
At Carson C Cadogan I’m appauled at your comment which I find very disrespectful , not even a good word to find it positive to someone that was faced with death. How inhuman can one be, the fact he’s living now and telling his story… must you so shamefully insult his moment of fighting this illness a whole year and decided to share it to the nation and all you can do is try to break his spirit after he mentioned what mental struggle to go forward …. I’m really disappointed in your callous comment.
The truth has to told
Tiny Harrison said same thing
Then walla
The truth has to be told
Then walla
The truth has to be told
Then walla
In a year or two same can be said
I’m happy for you Ignore the naysayers
Wonderful news!
Thanks for sharing your journey!
God’s continued blessings!
well I too am a colon cancer survivor. 13 years now.
Had 4 hrs of surgery to remove half of my colon and 6 months of chemo.
Fortunately it hadn’t spread to any organs even though I had to have some lymph nodes removed.
All in all I am a Survivor.
Lets hope that carson cadogan never experiences a bout of cancer.
Whatever the final outcome is, I am extremely happy for you. May God continue to bless you.
Carson C Cadogan….wha happened wid ya?..brudda daddy in do you nutten…it is the MASSES and FUMBLE that got ya head knot up…
I am so happy for you friend. I hope GOD allows you to see many more earthdays and to stay healthy. Please keep abreast of the alternative health information that can assist with keeping you cancer free. The Bible speaks to the leaves of trees for the healing of nations. Natural herbs, spices, teas, oils; all plant-based will help you to maintain good health. Of course exercise and spirituality helps one to remain in good health too.
Again, all the best.
Carson are you a born bred idiot. you should be offering words of encouragement. Bradda daddy stick to a wholesome diet and put your trust in God. faith is what counts
I would like to wish BRUDDA DADDY God’s richest blessing of good health and may he continue on his path with commitment and faith,do not condone any negativity which might try to invade your space.@Carson COON Codogan boy you are just a low life,don’t suppose you have any friends who would share anything serious ,medical or otherwise with you because as soon as you hear illness you are voicing your prognosis.A real malicious,run mout bajan,leave ya wid this,what ent catch ya ent pass ya and there but the grace of God go you or I.
Antoine i wish you all the best. From a fellow survivor.