There’s still no clear timeline on when Barbadians can expect long awaited tax refunds.
Today Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn was asked to address the issue on the Sunday edition of Down to Brasstacks aired on Voice of Barbados 92.9 FM. He however stayed clear of giving a definite date.
Pressed on whether taxpayers could expect payouts by Christmas, Straughn said, “I would like to think so, but the reality of the situation is that the economy is really in a bad way and right now the Government is managing its cash flow position plus being able to make sure that businesses can still go about doing what they are doing.”
He acknowledged that Government was aware of its overdue payments, citing businesses awaiting Value Added Tax refunds and suppliers who provided goods and services.
Straughn however assured that once the Government concludes pressing economic matters including the agreement with the International Monetary Fund, the Mia Mottley administration would be in a better position to address these issues.
“Essentially once we are able to have debt restructuring resolved and an agreement in place with the International Monetary Fund then we can start to do some of those things over the course of the next year and a half,” he said.
No clear timeline for tax refunds - by Sandy Deane August 12, 2018
Article by
Sandy Deane Published on
August 12, 2018
Article by
Sandy Deane
Sandy Deane
August 12, 2018

Another promise made to the Barbadian electorate by the BLP on the political platform which they are refusing to keep.
The BLP should give Bajans their votes back.
Gotta spend the money full-filling campaign promises.
Both of you are losers. Go bag wunna Heads. We waited 10 years we could wait another year. Losers. Stupse.
@The Turth: You are perfect type to be used.
Anybody want to dance? Straughn is a piece of Finance Minister; Mia carries the full title but………
The real Barbados Finance Minister is the IMF, soon to take up office.
Tell the people Straughn that there won’t get back their monies during your party’s one term in office.
That money must go to pay the extremely large Cabinet MPs and their staff, including family and friends as special advisers.
The blp promises are as worthless as the south coast sewer system
Johnny Crow
Hear, Hear!!!!!
The Barbados Labour Party is quickly finding out that lies and deception are not the best tools for running a Govt.
They cant get a single thing done. The people were fooled.
The BLP should give Bajans their votes back.
Bs or Ds are not refunding anything. This is the system: Tax the people. People need to realise they have no leaders. Lead yourselves. Click the link: https://bit.ly/2kv7DPH
well well my income tax was due long before the election by LAW it is due to me. if i owed the gov’t monies the threats of court action would be heard but the gov’t owes me and i cannot be told when i will receive my income tax returns, reduced the bloated parliament/cabinet and monies will come thru. ah want what is mine
Mia, Mia, Mia, the people who voted BLP want them Income Tax return and no more new TAXES
You said you got it Yuh lost it already
This administration is a long way off from paying the piper completely. This is the same government that promised the people their taxes while campaining.
They talk everyday about the promises they’ve kept, but nothing of those they’ve broken. I have predicted they will be as unpopular as the Dems were.