Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s recent indication that layoffs in the public service are imminent should come as no surprise to the Barbadian populace.
Trimming recognised fat in the public service was a decision on which the former Democratic Labour Party administration dawdled though knowing that such a strategy was inevitable. Perhaps, cognizant that they were arguably the country’s most unpopular post-independence government, the Freundel Stuart administration practised advanced inertia on the issue for fear of falling even further below zero on their popularity chart. Admittedly, there had been previous “trimming” of the public service but whispered suggestions since that time have suggested that a number of these made their way back into the public service.
Whenever the cuts come – and they will come – Barbadians ought not to waste their energies moaning and groaning about a situation over which they have no say or control. The involvement of the International Monetary Fund in Barbados’ recovery plan always meant that many public service workers would be going home. The International Monetary Fund relates directly to facts, figures, trends and statistics, and not explicitly flesh and bones. Only the very naïve would have expected that a change of government would have translated into a quick fix of the economy or a relaxing of inevitable stringent measures.
During the early 1990s under the Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford administration, Barbadians were faced with job and salary cuts in the public service. It was a credit to the people’s resilience and ingenuity that hundreds, if not thousands, went into entrepreneurship of various kinds or found other private sector means of providing for themselves and their families. Barbadians did not recline and play dead. We do not expect them to do so now whenever the inevitable occurs.
But the Mia Mottley administration must be very mindful of the examples it sets. The country’s political boss must lead by direct example. History has shown that she is keenly aware of optics. Her hands-on approach, her frequent engagement with the media and a propensity to speak to issues before they fester are indicative of an astute individual who is sensitive to the type of public over which she lords. It is within this context with public sector layoffs imminent that Miss Mottley leads by trimming the girth which currently surrounds her. She has gone on record as stating that the burden of Barbados’ recovery must be shared by all and thus from her own mouth she must guard against her bloated Cabinet, her high-paid consultants and political stringers being exempted from the bitter medicine to be administered to the Barbadian public.
A cursory look at the make-up of Prime Minister Mottley’s team reveals some interesting facts. Drawing salaries from the public purse in the area of communications are Charles Jong as Government’s communications consultant, Pat Parris as director of public affairs in the office of the Prime Minister and Senator Lucille Moe as Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs. Add to this the fact that there is an established and fully staffed Government Information Service acting as the conduit between the people and the Government and one cannot but observe that there is overlap in some of these positions, and as some would suggest, actual ‘unemployment’ in some of these jobs.
Another cursory look at the management of Barbados’ finance and economic affairs reveals a similar situation. Miss Mottley is Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment, Mr Ryan Straughan is Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance, Miss Marsha Caddle is Minister of State in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment, Ambassador Dr Clyde Mascoll is chief economic counselor to the Minister of Economic Affairs and Investment and Professor Avinash Persaud is economic advisor to the Government. Surely, a country with a small, struggling economy, and unable to pay its debts, cannot afford such bloat simply to provide political employment. And within the context of what is soon to befall the Barbadian public the Mia Mottley-led Government must do the right thing and lead by example.
Every indicator suggests that Barbados and Barbadians must be fiscally prudent. Politicians have turned “it cannot be business as usual” into a cliché but yet business continues in Barbados as usual from one administration to another. Miss Mottley has been swift to speak to inherited debt, and the need to change the system of doing things in the island. Looking back and apportioning blame for Barbados’ economic situation does not help the country. The blame goes beyond 2008. Bellowing “political corruption” does not help Barbados’ current economic situation. Apolitical observation and investigation are almost certain to find the smell of corruption in both the Democratic Labour Party and the Barbados Labour Party and among public servants serving under both administrations. The time for sitting back and pointing accusatorial fingers has passed and does not get Barbados out of the mess that both the DLP and BLP have placed it.
Miss Mottley has correctly sought to address our economic problems and has warned us that some bitter medicine is on its way. She must be keenly aware, though, that the medicine will go down the palates of the average Barbadian a lot faster and smoother if he or she observes others in high office swallowing and perhaps grimacing at the taste of the substance.
Total;y agree. Lead by example.
I support this one million percent !!!!!
Why is it necessary to have such a hugely impregnated Government, and poor people jobs on the line.???
I would have given this editorial an A, had it projected that it was sensitive to the pre and post termination plight of those public sector workers who are now being asked to go home.
But the editorial has
not projecting such.
It will get a B, from me.
Also, one has to be
sensitive to the wretchedness where this government has proceeded to
increase public servants transfers by 5 %, yet are going to
sending home under 4 000 workers soon.
Who is this
government trying to fool with such wretched
ignorance???
Indeed, this is not the way to treat human social capital which must be placed higher than
any other forms of capital.
Barbados is going to be the biggest loser when – with these workers having to be sent home – there is a tremendous waste and non-use of such capital for however long. One set of human social capital existing in such a state of abandonment, neglect is one too many.
Instead, it would
have been wiser to
do so many other things – including an across the board cut in transfers to public servants.
Another: the presiding over a process where a
system of PARTNERSHIPS is put in place in the government sector and where those who now are
workers will become PART-
OWNERS – essentially running on their own and making decisions on who will ENTER the PARTNERSHIPS or EXIT, and under what conditions – essentially operating the entire government sector and different areas therein
commercially.
Some other very
important steps would be the necessary and phased ABOLITION
of TAXATION and the removal of import costs into Barbados
(not export costs though from Barbados) vis a vis the ABOLITION of so-
called Exchange Rate Parities with the Barbados Dollar, and
instead the allowing of local people and markets to determine what
individuals will give to one another – as receipts – when
receiving imported resources, goods and services.
Surely there are
alternatives to simply looking at sending home any body in this country.
It is amazing hiw so many can be fooled by the smoke and mirror dribble tis govt present to the people as being transparent
Barbadians vote fir a change that would have decrease further pain
This govt never told the electorate that the IMF would be the final managers of the barbados
It is somewhat disingenuous to be asking barbadians to bear additional pain when during the election cycle this govt never presented a plan for the economy one that the electorate can be aware of and prepare themselve for all circumstances
It is now obvious that an election campagain built on better is now becoming bitter
“The chimes of time ring out the news: another day is through. Someone slipped and fell; was that someone you?
You may have longed for added strength, your courage to renew
Do not be disheartened, for I have news for you
It is no secret what MAM will do; what she’s done for others, she’ll do for you. With arms wide open, she’ll care for you
It is no secret what MAM will do.
I don’t really understand why my people are complaining, because the chimes of times were ringing out this news from last year, telling us that whoever the new occupants were in Bay Street, something would have to shift.
The reality is that “tings baaad” in Barbados and something has to shift. Whatever, whenever, however, we have to be prepared to wade through the difficult swamp. This is where and when necessity must become our mother of invention.
A flotilla of lemons from Bay Street will soon be delivered across the bridge for the people of this nation and we have to be prepared to collect what we can and make lemonade. This is when we will discover the inventor that lies dormant in us.
Keep out of de merchants’ supermarkets, grow what you want to eat. Separate your wants from your needs. Keep out of other Trumpland and stop supporting China and regularly pay whatever little you can to those you owe. Don’t run to fast cash for $5000.00 to buy a plane ticket or a crop over costume: it’s not worth it!
The Civil Servants who thought that being appointed meant they didn’t have to work every day or too hard, or answer the phone; or treat fellow Barbadians as their customers: all that is now a thought of the past. If you have been a Civil Servant all your working life, just languishing and waiting for retirement, bite the bullet and take the cut; your wound will not be too deep and you will heal, so get over the pain.
What’s to come has been a long time coming, but the change must come.
Our swan song is now; “Necessity must be the mother of invention”
You can like it, or you can lump it! Don’t let MAM break up your night rest!
I gone!!!!
Well, well, well. We are certainly not in it together. Another eye opener from BT. In total agreement with this Editorial.
I give this Editorial a “B” rating. We still have to wait and see what measures will be implemented by this administration.
Johnny
the imf measures aint put in place yet. how you know that the ministers wouldn’t take a pay cut when they start?
yuh jumping the gun with your assumptions!
also
the blp ministers 10% still going to charities
The answer to that question is a resounding no.
We need a new breed of politicians, not tricksters. ’cause a trickster by any other name is still a trickster. My eyes and ears are wide open. My brainwashing days are over.
Jehovah-jireh (The Lord will provide for me and mine).
People…the DLP have NO VOICE …DEM YARD FOWLS here are still of the opinion that the DEMS are in OPPOSITION..of course they ARE in OPPOSITION and CONFUSION right in the BOSOMS and BOWELS of their HEADQUARTERS there in George Street where we have an ELDER telling the former leader TO GO TO HELL,thats’ where he BELONGS …what the bird ?..a PRIEST criticizing the SAME leader….lord have mercy….that same leader curtailing a speech from a then ASPIRING leader…WTF….a two peat LOSER now the PRESIDENT and a 4 PEAT well established ,confirmed and renown LOSER the Vice President…and some a DEM vex as RH at that outcome
….and the biggest and the baddest of DEM all…the MOST BEST…one of their own suspected and alleged to have been taking BRIBES and LAUNDERING money….what the RH..
btw… people the countdown to that trial is now 4 days …yes…FOUR DAYS…YES DON..by now you should have known the words to the song ‘ those were the days’ by Mary Hopkin
I am waiting to see how civil servants will be cut, while keeping such a large cabinet