Shortage of nurses takes toll on neonatal unit at QEH

The shortage of nurses has not escaped the neonatal unit of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, a consultant pediatrician at the QEH said.

Dr Clyde Cave was speaking today at the celebrations for World Prematurity Day at the QEH.

He said there are few neonatal specialists employed at the state hospital.

Presently there are 18 specialized nurses in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit and two volunteer specialized nurses from the China Medical Institute for a period of six months.

“The whole country has a shortage of nurses and specialist nurses in neontology. We don’t have that training programme here,” said Dr Cave who disclosed that nurses are only offered specializations in midwifery, psychiatry and administration.

He said further training and more specialized programmes are needed.

“One of the things we are trying to do is develop the training, maybe formalize it in a neonatal training course but it starts with upgrading the skills of the people we have . You can only get so much training from looking at YouTube and reading books. You have to have somebody actually here to implement it,” he said.

“At 28 weeks a lot of those babies will spend two, three months in hospital requiring a lot of intensive care . . . and we don’t really have the investments because a small baby like that should have one assigned to look after them. For our whole unit we have 2 or 3 nurses on a shift.”

The pediatrician said that the neonatal unit is not for the faint-hearted, but a demanding job that takes an physical and emotional toll.

He said with the island’s declining birth rate, it is important to ensure the wellness of its future.

“We always have to have a hearty working population which is why investing in children and sick children is an important thing because if we don’t look after these babies and they still survive and they survive with greater handicap that is a greater burden.”

Katrina King

View Comments

• See the body that got time to call about when I write comments on a post KMA and mind ya fonking business, when you see me leave me alone

• Can someone tell me what color uniform nurses wear in the USA, Canada, Australia etc.

I am coming to a point.

• Dr. Cave is asking for specialized nurses I hope he also fight for specialty pay not an increment like how psychiatric nurses and midwives do. The Nursing Council beed to get off their old asses and introduce specialty registers like the doctors and assign a pay scale for each then nurses will stay. E.g critical care nurses(PICU, NICU, MICU, SICU, HDU) midwives, Diabetic Nurses, wound care nurses, Respiratory nurses, ENT nurses, AKU nurses, GI nurses, theatre nurses, recovery nurses, ophthalmology nurses, radiotherapy nurses to name a few. All of those are specialties that are paid for overseas and hence why U.K., US, Canada etc are snatching up our trained nurses because they are being paid well and have benefits. You work in a damn hospital and when you get sick you have to go in A&E and be treated like a nasty stinking dog by doctors and you have to wait just like anybody else and lord forbid you come in with your family or loved ones!!!!

You work Sunday night duty from 9pm to 7am the Monday morning and you’re told that’s your off day like seriously a bunch of foolishness and the. You don’t get paid for unsociable hours but we want to say we are an international hospital. Stupse.

The hospital employed the non-national nurses but some of them weren’t up to standard and were getting paid more than our nurses and some of them use to treat our patients badly and because they were senior to our nurses use to put all of the work on our bajan nurses which was u fair. Don’t get me wrong they were some of them that were sooooooo pleasant and would go above and beyond for our patients and I learned a lot from those but I wasn’t sorry when the bad ones left. So that I would have to blame on HR because they should demand that appraisals be done on EVERY nurse every 3 to 6 months and not only for appointments. I only got an appraisal 4 yrs after I was employed that’s a nasty habit because you have nurses that are horrible who treat patients badly who has numerous complaints but still get appointed.

• We need to ask the questions no one considers to ask. Why are nurses leaving??? All responses should be anonymous. Why are nurses not being trained for specialty areas? Who is keeping the already oppressed - further oppressed. Is it the hierarchy? or is it a lack of funds? if so then turn the gun at the system upholders.

• These particular nurses are specialized nurses and always had shortages. But with being said, the shortage of general nurses were seemingly 'fixed' a couple years ago when local nurses turning out of the ramped up Nursing programme of the BCC began to take up positions. Foreign nurses from the Phillipines, the Caribbean and others places were then systematically sent home as there was enough local Barbadian nurses. But then, as had happened in the past, Bajan nurses began to seek employment abroad, thereby again contributing to the shortage once again.

• And these big brains/heads have become like sponges, fully sodden with liquid and absolutely cannot or should I say won't hold anything more or new.

• The whole health system in Barbados (like all the other systems) is F up and backwards with a lot of big heads mismanaging when it comes to staff advancing their knowledge, with their extended arm of hierarchical BS ideas. And I understand more general nurses are going through the doors come Feb 2019. Good for you guys.

• This was so 12 years ago

Maybe it has gotten worst because of more babies needing to be admitted to the unit

But this unfortunately is nothing new

It's just to find a way to fix it

Talk doesn't work in this case unless it is outlining plans

Recent Posts

Antigua and Barbuda takes over CFATF chairmanship from Barbados

Director of the Office of National Drug and Money Laundering Control Policy (ONDCP) in Antigua, Lieutenant Colonel Edward Croft, on…

2 hours ago

Eric Holder to receive honorary award

Cabinet has announced that the former Attorney General of the United States of America, Eric Himpton Holder, has been awarded…

4 hours ago

UPDATE: Irving Burgie dies

US composer Irving Burgie, who helped to popularise Caribbean music with hit songs like Day-O, has died aged 95. His…

5 hours ago

Private day care centres must register by January 31

Operators of private day care centres are reminded that the deadline for registering their businesses or renewing their licences is…

9 hours ago

Fogging Schedule December 2 – 6

The Ministry of Health and Wellness’ fogging programme continues this week in a number of parishes. On Monday, December 2,…

9 hours ago

Today’s weather

Synopsis: Weak surface to low-level instability will be affecting the island. Forecast: Partly cloudy to occasionally cloudy with a few…

10 hours ago