Categories: A SliderLocal News

PM: Barbados will rebound

Barbados still has so much to be proud of and will once again punch above its weight.

This was the message of Prime Minister Mia Mottley in her first Independence Day message as leader of this country.

Addressing the nation from the parade ground at Kensington Oval, where a fair-sized crowd dressed in the national colors of blue, yellow and black were in attendance despite persistent downpours, Mottley paid homage to the Barbadian spirit of resilience.

“I have asked that we come here today, particularly the children, so that we never forget what excellence looks like and feels like because excellence must be our mantra in all that we do,” she said, noting that today was the first time since 1975, when Sir Garfield Sobers was knighted, that this year’s knighthoods of St Andrew would be conferred at a public event.

“This morning rings with symbolism and I ask that we take it in because it is the symbolism that inspires us. The showers of blessing that met us at Kensington and the sky opening up to allow the sun to let the brightness of a brighter day and brighter tomorrow always be there with us but never forgetting that not everyday is sunny and not everyday is what we want. Our nation has learnt that and we have learnt that through decades of tribulation and resilience from fighting that tribulation” Mottley said.

The Prime Minister, who was adorned in a white dress with blue yellow and green shawl bearing the image of the Barbados Pride flower draped over her right shoulder did not reference Barbados’ current hardship due to an ongoing austere economic recovery programme. but  she expressed confidence that the country would return its glory days.

“We have come to Kensington on November 30, 2018 to say to the world that we will punch above our weight again,” she said to a rousing applause from the audience.

This morning Kenneth Rudolph Hewitt, 82, Philip Evan Serrao, 72 and Avisene Caesaretta Carrington became the newest Knights and Dame of St Andrew heading up an impressive list of 27 awardees, local men and women who have been rewarded for their meritorious service to Barbados.

It was an especially awing moment for those in attendance to see a spritely Caesaretta, who is 100 years-old receiving her honour from Dame Sandra Mason. As if this was not symbolic enough of female achievement, It was happy coincidence that the Girls Guides of Barbados also celebrated 100 years of existence and this morning troops performed a dance routine in the formation of the trident.

There were several new features to this year’s Independence celebrations. One such addition was the pinning of leadership badges on the head boy and girl of secondary and primary schools across the nation.

At today’s ceremony which saw the parade of 900 troops, onlookers  interviewed by Barbados TODAY said they thoroughly enjoyed this year’s celebrations.

“I was really filled with hope when I heard the Prime Minister’s address. I was really glad that it was held at Kensington otherwise everybody would be soaked. So I have to give it high marks this year,” said Troy O’Garro.

Daphne Thomas said “I can’ t complain it was raining a lot, so I guess that’s why a lot more people didn’t come down but once you were inside you could really sit down and enjoy everything. The PMs message was really inspiring.”

Colville Mounsey

View Comments

• Lorenzaa I sending for some Vegetables on Monday
    I want Organic
    Can't fool I and I
    I going Carnival in T&T hope you coming with Your Entourage, My T&T friends want to see who dis Lorenzaa is

• Big Child from henceforth I will call you Big Dunce,because only a J/A would believe there is only one Lorenzo in Barbados well let me read and spell for you the pLorenzo honoured was not me capiche so you could forget the petty childish behaviour and answer the question posed by Sir Lloyd which none of you Dems seem not to want to answer How the hell we get back here?Ponder on that and reply with a sensible answer if you are capable nobody it interested in your 10 year old behaviour as the voters showed after you all cuss out at Waterford.All you all can do now is look in from the outside poor souls and in my view got 15 more years to go ,so put that in your pipe and smoke it.By the way when will the Dems present their Independence message?

• Lorenzaa wuh you really get Honoured fuh, tell me the people the truth
    It is alleged that two Presidents recommend you
    The President of Bglad
    The President of LGBTQ

• GreenGiant and johnny Crow the two disgruntled Dems you do not get tired bellyaching it will not change the 30 to 0 result,you all will be in the wilderness for in my view at least 15 years,so carry on with your nonsence,of nitpicking everyday.Tell me Crow how much the 50th anniversary all year celebration cost bajans?.As for GreenGiant when the last administration sent home over 3000 black bajans many without a cent as they were sent to a non existent Tribunal which then had to be formed,i did not hear you,hyprocrite.Tell me have the Beautify workers receive all their money as yet?Secondly as Sir Lloyd ask how did we get back here for such layoffs now to have to take place,Greengiant?You Dems are a bunch of hyprocrites,who really have no moral grounds to be speaking after leading us to 23 downgrades due in my view to incompetence.

• I totally agree Mr roett should also be honoured. But who the cat like he lick. But something I have realized Bajans are suckers for sweet talk.their fall for it every time. And this present government knows that oh so well. It celebrations for a few who get their pockets lace. But not the majority or Bajans who get place on the bread line. So who wants to live in la la Land them could do it.but not right thinking people.

• Poorpeacefulandpolite: I couldn't agree with you more. No sensible person or competitor punches above their weight, because as the economic principle of survival states, "if one's output exceeds their income then their upkeep will be their downfall".

This concept, and method of management brought us to where we are today. This government having to sacrifice the returns on local investments, overtaxed it's citizens, devalued the livelihood of civil servant through large scale retrenchment, reduced social services, and the returns to international creditors in the name of economic recovery, while continuing to punch above it's weight by employing an inflated cabinet should cease with this most recent PR stunt. That's all it is, they're now telling Barbadians to expect a golden calf, when indeed the calf is being slaughtered and shared among them and their party faithfuls.

I really hope Barbadians awake from this trance inflicted on them under the hypnosis of the Barbados Labour Party. The pomp and pageantry of yesterday's parade means nothing to those ordinary citizens who can't place a meal on their table on Sunday, who's fear of losing their homes are real, who have been retrenched by this government without their final payments, or those who will be getting their pay monthly for four years.

This is no time of celebration for many of us. So to pack Kensington Oval with B L P faithfuls as is the norm to make the grand show was left no impression on many of us. If Mia wants to impress us then show us in a practical way that we're all in this together. Show us sacrifice being made by the B L P administration.

Oh by the way I must mention, I notice there was no place on the honours list for Ishmael Roett after serving as speaker of the house for three terms, educated so many Barbadians some of whom have held high office, and continues to this day to make a contribution to the children of poor Barbadians through the Barbados O'level Institute. Remember none of us are perfect, and no sin is bigger than the other. This failing by the Mottley administration is but a slap in the face to a man who has bent over to support the inner circle of the B L P to the point of sacrificing himself with his very peers.

Recent Posts

WORLD – Miss South Africa crowned 2019 Miss Universe

(CNN) - Miss South Africa rules all.  Zozibini Tunzi was crowned Miss Universe Sunday night after excelling through rounds of swimsuit and…

8 hours ago

PM Mottley eyes opportunities for artists and designers in Africa and the Pacific

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley is looking to Africa and the Pacific for new growth prospects for artists and designers…

9 hours ago

Motorcyclist suffers head injuries in collision with car

A motorcyclist suffered serious head injuries in a collision at the intersection of Drax Hall Road and Greens Road,…

11 hours ago

Police investigate an unnatural death

Police are investigating the unnatural death of Shamar Rojoe Bascombe of Hannay's Valley, Windsor, Christ Church. Lawmen say Bascombe was…

11 hours ago

Caribbean, a laboratory for climate change, says WFP

UNITED NATIONS, CMC –  The United Nation’s World Food Programme (WFP) has described Latin America and the Caribbean as “a laboratory…

12 hours ago

It’s not business as usual, says Minister Kirk Humphrey

A changing economic environment, coupled with the effects of climate change, will require every Barbadian citizen to adapt to a…

13 hours ago