The seven-month-old Mia Mottley administration has flexed its muscle with a local property management company warning that the business will not hold the Government of Barbados to ransom even if it is owed substantial monies by the state-owned Barbados Water Authority (BWA).
In fact, Water Resources Minister Wilfred Abrahams took it a step further and declared that the company, Innotech Services Limited broke a contract with the BWA by removing the water tanks from some rural communities yesterday in an apparent bid to force the hand of the authority over the debt. The outstanding debt is understood to be in the millions.
“Why this behaviour is so reprehensible is that you are now using the health and safety and the water supply of those, who by their circumstances are the most vulnerable where the water is concerned and for whom it was deemed necessary to put down community tanks so they are not disadvantaged . . . you are now using them as a pawn in a game that they are not playing in. That makes no sense. That says a lot more about Innotech as a company than it does about the BWA,” an angry Abrahams said.
The Minister of Energy and Water Resources took this militant stance this afternoon, as he hit back hard at Innotech Services for removing the water tanks it had installed in those communities plagued with water outages or shortages.
Abrahams accused the construction, technology and equipment services firm of using the consumers in the water-scarce communities as pawns in order to recoup millions of dollars in outstanding rent and other services which the BWA owes Innotech.
“Innotech is a major contractor with the BWA. The fact that they felt the need to pick up the community water tanks is unfortunate. But we are not going to be bullied. Innotech has been rattling their swords recently and they have been threatening to lock us out the BWA headquarters . . . and that obviously did not get the desired results. And now they have resorted to picking up the water tanks,” Abrahams declared.
Without holding back his disgust, the Minister told Barbados TODAY that while the Government and by extension, the water utility company, was willing to sit down with the principals of Innotech and negotiate a settlement, neither he nor his administration would be bullied by anyone.
“I am prepared to sit down with Innotech
. . . I have invited them to two meetings before and they have not yet sat down at the table with me and discussed the issues surrounding the contracts and contractural payments. I am still prepared to sit down with Innotech and work through all of this so we can come to some happy understanding that makes everybody comfortable and provide some commercial sense to all the parties,” he said.
“What we will not do is be held to ransom. So I wish to categorically state that neither I, Wilfred Abrahams, the BWA nor the Government of Barbados, submit to bullying by anybody. We have to do our best for Barbadians and that is what we are doing. We will not be taken advantage of, and we will not be held to ransom,” the Minister insisted.
Turning his attention specifically to Innotech’s removal of the water tanks, Abrahams said the company had effectively broken the contract by its action, and the Government has agreed to end it and source the tanks from elsewhere.
“With respect to the tanks that they picked up, as far as we are concerned, that is a repudiation of the contract to provide services to us and they can keep those tanks. We will not find ourselves in a position again, where, because of a dispute between the company and the BWA, that they feel embolden to disadvantage the people in St. Joseph and the people in affected areas,” he added.
He contended that what made more sense at this point, was for Government and the BWA to provide that service on its own in order to have control and be able to guarantee the community water tanks have water so those who require potable water can have access.
“So as far as I am concerned, that contract with Innotech supplying tanks is at an end. They have repudiated that contract and we accept it,” Abrahams told Barbados TODAY.
Asked if he had already sourced alternative tanks, the Minister replied in the affirmative.
“Yea. At the end of the day, there is nothing special about the tanks. There are water tanks that some people have in their houses, that commercial entities have. There are a number of suppliers in Barbados that have them. The BWA has already commenced its procurement process to get those tanks replaced as quickly as possible.
“And in an interesting twist, some good corporate citizens have contacted both the BWA and myself to donate tanks,” he revealed.
He said the installation of the new tanks will be done in quick order so that those for whom they had been set up in the first place, are guaranteed water supply.
While Abrahams is not ruling out taking Innotech to court in order the resolve this dispute, he said such action would be a last resort because he would rather have a negotiated resolution.
He acknowleged that the issue surrounding the removal of the water tanks was not the only matter with Innotech that required a resolution.
“I don’t want to prejudice any possible negotiations. Besides the water tanks contract, there are other contracts that we are in with Innotech, and all I can do is urge that Innotech comes to the table, present their side of the story, let the BWA and Government present our side and let us come to some happy medium,” the Minister suggested.
Abrahams argued that almost every other vendor who has a contract with Government had re-negotiated a good faith compromise but Innotech was the only one holding out.
When Barbados TODAY reached out to chairman of Innotech Services Tony DaSilva, he chose not to comment at this stage.
However, it is understood that the BWA is indebted to the company to the tune of $18 million over a 14-month period for various services including the rental of the building housing the authority’s Pine, St Michael headquarters.
[email protected]
What the hell is bullying. Innotech have staff to be paid.You all laying off workers and drawing a salary for talking,
The BWA aint bully and threatened and cut off peoples water supply for not paying the debts?
The Barbados Goverment is not above the Law.
Yes Government as it stands is not anice the law but Governmant has been installed by the people to represent the interests of the people and should not allow itself to be held to ransom by a company who has benefited perhaps unfairly from contracts paid for out of the pockets of the people Government has been installed to represent
Innotech is not the only company Government owes nor will it be the last and suppose Government as it can do uses the big stick on all those indebted to Government
mr minister you have my full support. to go and take up water tanks that people need to get water it tells me alot about that company. they have no conscience at all and you see that act by them is short of heartless. if i was running the government them could not get another contract from the government money. over the last 10 years some people in barbados think them more important powerful than anybody else. but them so wrong it in funny. barbados belongs to barbadians not no group of people do care who their are or what their own. so them better wake up. i have seen alot of things happen in barbados but this is one to remember. well keep wunna tanks we will get our own for the people to use.and one final note i respect the stance this government has taken. we will not be bully by no one in barbados. them days over. this is a new dawn.
the donations of water tanks by mr james edghill is to be applauded .great gesture and kindness from your company part. as a barbadian that made me feel proud. water is the nexts most important element after air. and to deprived people from getting water is demon act. i hope bajans really understand what happen and what could happen to people when you least expect in barbados. but there the saying god is good all the time.a great truth.
Good job by right thinking Barbadians and by the representative/s of the people. God does not like ugly Innotech. A new administration cleaning up the mess of the previous requires time. Those large companies who owe the BWA please pay. Would you want water shut off? I am guessing not. Poor people pay their bills so ahould you. Enough said.
How convenient it is to shut off water of customers for a few months payments and owed millions to a company contracted to pay for offices and don’t expect the company to take action of the defaulter of payment.
Wuhloss de BWA bully people to pay sewerage tax, with a threat of water disconnection, now dis clown talking about he will not be bullied. I just cant stand de lil 2 mouth clown.
Now you know how the poor people feel when you cut off their utilities for owing arrears.
I agree with innotech… The same way u could bully citizens for monies owed then u too should be bullied for your debts… We all owe someone or someplace in this life and God is at the top of the list
“…it is understood that the BWA is indebted to the company to the tune of $18 million over a 14-month period for various services including the rental of the building housing the authority’s Pine, St Michael headquarters.”
So David Estwick and Atlee Brathwaite were not paying Innotech during the DLP time either and there were no threats of lockout or removal of water tanks. Hmmmmmm!
Understand that BWA had entered an agreement with Innotech to pay the company over $50,000 per month for rental of those tanks. Hmmmmmmm!
Who were the suppliers and installers of those household water tanks? Hmmmmmm!
Don’t let Innotech get around to “bull-ying” yuh wit a PVC pipe, ya hear Wilfred! It can’t be easy dealing wit drinking water and sewage water issues at de same time. Both gine smell stink!
Looka do for do. When this administration adds illegal taxes to the water bill all kind of excuses were put forward by them. Now the shoe is on the other foot they are crying bullying. Steupse. I am on Innotech’s side.
The MPs suffering from “hand, foot and mouth” disease.
Carl you said the tank rentals were $50,000 a month! So help me with this answer how many tanks we talking about in total?
Wunna DLP YARD FOWLS is something else…people water supply being THREATENED and wunna REJOICING..just because wunna PARTY got KICKED to RH out.
…and skinning wunna teet like a pack of roast dogs or like wunna get pison at wha going on in GEORGE STREET with the MOST EXPERIENCED LOSERS telling wunna when to run or walk.
The people GINE GET BACK their water tanks …and wunna gine still be OUT IN DE COLD down in GEORGE STREET with wunna weekly get together of LOSERS CONFERENCES at all ya TWILIGHT LECTURES….keep some NOISE there…get SERIOUS…. CAH LONG BOP……doan just skin wunna teet and say in unison..YEAH…YA RIGHT..YA KNOW
So Innotech right? So then the BWA should start disconnecting consumers who owe them… Everybody,!!! Hmmmm
I’m no fan of that construction company, they have been alleged to bully even their employees. They promise much, but deliver little and are not known to keep their word.
The same however can be said about this administration, they too promised much, found fault with plenty while in opposition but have delivered differently now in government. We have heard for ages that ‘two bulls can’t occupy the same pen together’.
So this will be an interesting one surely. Late PM Thompson complained about the servicing of bolt contract payments when he assumed office in 2008 as well, but he never tried to renegotiate them, he honored the agreed contracts, so this administration who literally bullied consumers with threats recently to disconnect their water supply needs to learn to pay it’s bills. They can’t expect to and won’t get their way in negotiations every time. Guess they will find out come March 2019 when they attempt to negotiate with external creditors.
Yes disconnecting domestic supply is wrong at this time, but the bank must have written to the contractor regarding the non payment. This government needs to realize that their dept restructuring has had a negative impact on everyone’s bottom line, the risk of the bottom of the bucket collapsing is real in some quarters and those concerned will be evasive and in some cases abrasive.
The man wid de silva is from wey be careful how wuna tread goverment because there is not much left in Barbados that we own.This is what happens when people are looking for cheap fixes and stop gap measures which invariably work out more costly long term.Poor people live in wooden houses,save to improve with wall but when it comes to goverment it’s all mash up and buy back.Find employment for people renovating all the old buildings and get rid of the sick rentals which are yet another on going saga.Pray for quick action on the tank and water issue for those in affected areas.
Inheritance is all I will say
Is this the same Minister who “bullied” us with a “like it or lump it” threat over the Sewerage fee and extra water charges??
Is the same BWA who lock off my water when I missed a payment one month when I was off island?? And they did it on a Friday evening knowing full well that they would be not working again until Monday.
Is the same government that would sell off or auction my land for back taxes yet owe me my income tax refund for years?
Dear Mr. Minister…. now you know what it is like to be “bullied”…. and you ain’t like it, I bet.
Like Greengiant, I ain’t no fan of the company but how you expect a company to pay workers and survive with a $18M debt?? Ain’t your action of non-payment not a form of ‘bullying’ them out of business??
Try and sit down with them and sort this ignorance out … we don’t need bullies in public or private arrangements … two wrongs don’t make a right!
@John, I will have to ask some questions from my trusted sources to tell me the number of water tanks scattered throughout the Scotland District. My guess is there could be well over 100 tanks to meet the demand and make the “shady deal” worthwhile to some people’s pockets.
@Harry Turnover, these bloggers seem to think that Innotech is the only supplier of water tanks in Barbados. Those tanks will be replaced very soon, so tell Innotech thanks for freeing up the space.
How could people be “happy” with a company that engaged in “certain arrangements” with the former DLP administration that cost them (the taxpayers) millions in overspent dollars? This company dismissed two of its office staff in the most humiliating manner some years ago.
Even Chris Sinckler was ticked off with David Estwick over the construction deal surrounding that BWA building. Estwick wrote the PM a letter complaining for Sinckler and then instructed BWA senior management not to attend meetings with Sinckler. Sinckler even withheld funds from the Ministry of Agriculture in retaliation, leaving Estwick livid. When the construction matter was “amicably” resolved between the two, Estwick was spotted on the 2013 political platform with his hand lovingly caressing Sinckler’s leg.
You can figure out what led to the “bad blood” between Sinckler and Estwick over the background deal surrounding the BWA building in the first place, and what eventually led them to be “best friends” once again.
Looking at this from an objective point of view, I have to weigh in on the side of the business if there is no cash flow coming in to keep the company afloat.
Having said that, I must admit the decision to remove the water tanks is one this company will look back on and realize it was a mistake.
The best strategy in this situation would have been negotiations. Maybe too late now.
I think this company made a very bad “public relation” blunder. You can be right and still dead wrong.
Carl thanks I would love to hear the actual amount of tanks out there so that we as tax payers can get an idea of the rate of return This lease was based on for all involved. Those tanks would not cost more than $1500 each and with the pad at say $500 max, you are talking a capital outlay per unit of no more than $2000 max installed. Added to this the fact they sit on crown land at no monthly rental to the said company I really would love to run the numbers on this deal. When you asking your source find our the period of the lease agreement. I will come back to you once I have all the information with the profit that this one sweet deal would of yielded to all involved.
All who are in agreement with Innotech got to be fools.Taking water from households that have serious water issues where they live,I would hate anyone to do that to me.I feel sorry for those people that probably could not get a decent shower this morning,all of you are heartless.As I said yesterday I know Tony,Martin,Bazil and their sister Sandy well and I can say honestly they are horrible people.They don’t give a rats ass about people and especially if you are black,so you people that are in favour of them trust me if you had to work for them they would treat you the way they treat alllllllllllllllllllll of there staff except for a chosen few.I agree with the Minister don’t let these nobody’s bully the government.They are suffering financially now as the DLP ain’t in power no more,C.O. Williams could not get a job under the DEMS watch and now the tables have turned they can’t take it.The Government should shred every contract they have with Innotech if it were legal but it is not,I would give those boys no work.They are a heartless bunch to take up water tanks from those folks that live in the hickeys of Barbados and you people rejoicing.What miss you has not passed you.Miss Mottley donot give Innotech no more work,NONE.
Does this remind y’all of the Al Barack vs DLP saga? LOL
All I would say is “what goes around comes right back around” and “Do so don’t like so”.
@ATMAN: You really mean the Al Barack vs B L P/D L P sago. Both Parties were culpable in that saga remember? So just let the chips fall where they belong.
@John
The figure of just over $50,000 per month for the tanks is correct. Total tanks are just over 100.
Imagine government paying one million a month. Where do you expect it to come from, your taxes to further enrich the rich who looks for ways to dodge paying taxes.
$50,000 per month for water tank rental? Unnatek the people for Barbados for a shagging ride.
$50,000 a month could have gone a long way in overhauling the ramshackle Castle Grant reservoir,and some of the main lines beyond.
What a pity that BWA did not opt to refurbish its former Pine Headquarters while it was paying high rental fees to a land lord in the old cigarette factory compound, and else where. It would not have cost $44 Million and counting.
Many of those who were at BWA during the reign of the last minister,and who knew what was going on should be given their walking tickets as well.