Following the recent shooting death of his friend of over 30 years, 96 year-old stalwart of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Astor B Watts is urging Barbadians to point out society’s criminal element to the police.
“I think the police department is doing a reasonably good job because they are able to capture and bring most of these criminals before the law courts. But what I think that we need are individuals who live in the communities to make sure that if they have information about people with the guns to pass it on to the police,” said Watts.
He also urged young people to turn to God instead of going down the path of violent crime, warning that such activities will always lead to a bitter end.
“Young people need to turn that negative energy to positive thinking because these persons have descended to the low road and are now even attacking innocent persons,” he contended.
Chaos broke out on Friday evening in the City as Christmas shoppers were sent scampering around bustling Marhill Street after gunshots rang out in the area close to Parliment just after 6:30.
Those stray bullets found pensioner Oscar “Nard” Hamblin who was shot in the head while drinking a beer and liming with friends during a game of dominoes. A doctor who was nearby rushed to resuscitate Hamblin but he died on the scene.
Hamblin, a longstanding DLP supporter and a member of the RM General Services’ dominoes team, was playing a game at the time the shooting broke out. Team captain David Alleyne, his friend of 42 years, was a mere five steps away from him when the shooting started.
This morning Watts told Barbados TODAY that the senseless death of his friend has not only filled him with sadness but also fear. He explained that Hamblin’s death brought into sharp focus, the reality that not even senior citizens were safe from gun violence.
“I am so fearful that I take instructions from my daughter and good friends who tell me that when anybody comes to the home, I must not open the door unless I know them. So I don’t open the door, I speak to persons from the flaps. I do not go out by myself even in the evening. I used to go out in the yard and have a little exercise but with what is happening I don’t go anywhere and I have to ask God to keep me safe from harm and danger because not even innocent people are safe,” lamented Watts, who described the 83-year-old Hamblin as a man who “did not interfere with a soul”.
He also revealed that along with hanging with friends, Hamblin lived for politics and took part in all activities related to the DLP, going back to the days of Errol Barrow.
“Nard and I canvassed together over the years. He supported all of the policies of the DLP and always gave of his best. In the 30 years I have known him, I have never heard him get into a dispute or anything or that sort. He was always polite,” Watts said.
Hope that justice comes to this elderly gentleman’s relations. May they be comforted. RIP old Sir.
The USA got one so far,waiting to see if there anymore…
May Mr Hamlin rest in peace and his family and friends find some comfort in the memories he has left with them.No political consideration here but doesn’t it fill you with sadness and despair when you see a very senior gentleman stating exactly how THE MURDERS,SHOOTINGS,STABBINGS and ROBBERIES are impacting on his daily living and human rights.Imagine you have been living a peaceful and productive life paving the way for a better tomorrow and here it is our Heavenly Father has granted you 96yrs,and now you have to be cowering behind closed doors afraid even to venture into your own back garden but the illiterate ,ignorant,black hooligans can openly shoot an 83yr old gentleman in broad day light and in a crowded place.Then days later you have another imbecile galloping bare back whilst firing a gun as though he think he was in the remaking of any of Clinton Eastwood movies.We were all extremely critical of the previous administration and justifiably so,but here we are with a goverment in hibernation,oblivious to the emotional and fearful existence of us who voted them in to correct the wrongs they continually told us they would correct if we gave them the opportunity far from that they are now on par with the previous administration equally as bad.Before long one or a group of these hooligans will decide to step up their game and start playing with the big boys,kill a few to test the waters to see how far they can go.
Listening for the first “Canary”.