Barbados may soon be welcoming another American university to its shores.
Prime Minister Mia Mottley today revealed that talks with Chamberlain University have already begun and she was hoping those discussions can soon be “wrapped up”.
She made the disclosure during a tour of the Villages at Coverley, where 1,500 students and staff at the Ross University School of Medicine will reside.
Chamberlain University is a for-profit healthcare and nursing school that offers bachelor, master and doctoral degree programmes in nursing, and a public health master’s degree.
While not disclosing detail, Mottley, who visited the area along with Minister of Tourism Kerri Symmonds, Minister of Health and Wellness Lieutenant Colonel Jeffrey Bostic, Acting Minister of Education Lucille Moe and officials from Ross University, said Government was using Ross as a test run.

“We haven’t spoken about the work we are doing with Chamberlain University, which is a nursing school, and we are looking to see how we can wrap that up as we go along. But we want to perfect what we are doing with Ross first, while at the same time having a conversation with the Barbados Community College and Chamberlain,” the Prime Minister said.
“As you know, the Government of Barbados is already in the provision of nursing education, but we feel through partnerships we can deliver better and more, especially given that there is a global shortage of nurses that we experience in today’s world.”
With students and staff expected to arrive in Coverley from as early as Saturday, Mottley said she was impressed at the transformation that had taken place in the community in less than four months.
Giving the project an ‘A-’, she praised developer Mark Maloney and his team for their outstanding work in ensuring arrangements were in place, and described it as a “true exercise in partnership”.
Mottley said the students’ arrival would give the country’s economy a much-needed boost.
“We’re probably starting off the year with the equivalent of 75 000 seven-day tourists. That is what Ross’ equivalent is to us,” she said.
In a brief speech, Maloney said the finished project was a result of all hands being on deck.
“This couldn’t be a better example of public sector, private sector and Government collaboration. What I think we have achieved as a group is no less than amazing. Just three and a half months ago, we were discussing and facilitating bringing Ross here to Coverley and we assembled a team of 1 000 workers . . . and to get everything done in this time is phenomenal and shows what can happen in Barbados when everybody comes together,” the developer said.
Lisa Wardell, chief executive officer of the university’s parent company Adtalem Global Education, said that judging from what she had seen, students and staff would be happy with the accommodations.
“Our students are going to be thrilled. They have been in temporary locations and to be here all together—our Canadian students, our US students and all of our international students together—that is going to be a wonderful homecoming for them,” Wardell said
Sorry for Dominica but they were going to go somewhere. Bringing one more would be big. Just need to keep them safe.
The DLP brought in 7 of these schools. The talk back then was that these schools were a threat to the local school of medicine. Where are those voices now?
BARBADOS IS BLESS WITH THE GIFT OF MIA AMOR MOTLEY don’t be DISTRACTED barbadians by the little negative
@Kevin: “The DLP brought in 7 of these [medical] schools. The talk back then was that these schools were a threat to the local school of medicine. Where are those voices now?”
Are you referring to Washington University of Barbados (WUB), and Bridgetown University (and Victoria University) where former education minister Ronald Jones, who granted permission for their existence, is now vice-chancellor? Are you talking about WUB where the CEO Venkat Gopi was arrested and remanded to Dodds prison? Is this the same Gopi that is wanted in India for fraudulently taking students’ monies for a medical education that does not exist?
Let’s deal with two important parts of the Jones video first. Go to the segments at:
7:55 minutes — joking about receiving money in a FedEx envelope because he is “looking for money”. It was in fact in another envelope that allegedly contained $70,000 in cash.
19:55 minutes — making fun that he would not be traveling to the United States within the next seven years for fear of being “stopped” by authorities in Miami when he gets off the plane. Reliable sources confirmed that Jones, a frequent traveler to Miami, has not visited the US since the May 24 elections, maybe for the same reason and what had befallen his colleagues Donville Inniss.
The Gopi video shows him in handcuffs being escorted by police from the premises of Casa Grande Hotel; the home of the now defunct WUB.
The biggest “threat” WUB would have posed to the local Faculty of Medicine was sullying UWI’s reputation and that of Barbados as places of high quality medical education and ethical conduct.
An even more significant threat would have been to the students at UWI medical school, when the DLP government imposed over $8,000 in tuition fees per academic year on them, thereby shattering the educational and professional aspirations of the brightest poor in Barbados.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIjjEA72mLM
Are they planning to steal another university from a neighboring island again?
Bring it,we need it….
Hoping it comes to fruition.
Why that CROOKED DEMOCRATIC LABOR PARTY din STEAL some when they had the reins?maybe they were busy stealing for DEMSELVES and not the COUNTRY
You can’t see that now that DEM gone EVERYBODY want to come on board?..daiz wha got wunna…dah fa lick ya.
Sounds good!
It would be nice if Government pays some attention to what is happening in our schools and prevent so much failures and low .
Liz Thompson (aka. Carl Harper) is a shameless brat, who thinks people have forgotten her and her husband’s alleged shenanigans,when she was a government Minister in the Owen Arthur Administration. Disgraceful, typical BLP politician. Do as I say, but not as I have done, and as we are now doing. The same Mark Maloney, whose name was constantly being dragged through the mud by Mia and her MP fat cats, the same Coverley Development which the BLP fat cats used their tongue axes against, they all seem now to be in a Queen size bed together.
Weather cocks dressed as dildos to continue to screw us all some more. I watched the government whip, Kerrie Symmonds behind Mia on my TV last night, with a smile larger than the salaries he and his other 25 fat cat colleagues receive. I shook my head and said,the circus has hit the road, but the pot holes have become ponds, and the sewage smells like a fart. Nothing has changed.Just the actors.
JOHNNY CROW: You bad then.
Mr Jones started this program of bringing these schools to Barbados. The BLP is merely continuing with this program. I give them full marks for doing the sensible thing.
All of the large and very practical projects that was started by the DLP is now making this administration look good.
i will like to see you all bring a UWI that can teach children Robotic Engineering or RoboticTechnology this is the world going forward.
these for-profit universities are a scam
Mark Maloney once enemy of the BLP now bossom buddies with said BLP. When oney stirring enemies become friends.
@Carl Harper, Just like Trade Confirmers, things happen.
@Susan Maynard: “i will like to see you all bring a UWI that can teach children Robotic Engineering or Robotic Technology….”
Congratulations! You have said a similar thing that I mentioned on another article. Wish Adtalem Global Education would consider bringing DeVry University to Barbados. It would fill a void in several High-Tech areas that Barbadians would love to access right at home.
DeVry is known for its Engineering, Software and Information technologies.
Looking forward to this.
Instead of shady offshore finance Barbados can specialize in shady offshore medical education for North Americans not good enough to be admitted to schools where they come from.
“In March 2005, Adtalem Global Education (formerly DeVry Education Group) acquired Deaconess. A term of the acquisition agreement required Adtalem to change the name of the school. The chosen name, Chamberlain, is derived from the Middle English word “chaumberlein,” which means “chief steward ….”
“Chamberlain University” belongs to former DeVry, which has a questionable history:
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2016/01/ftc-brings-enforcement-action-against-devry-university
Beware.
When you see people who you think should be sensible making foolish comments it’s confusing. What does Ross have to do with UWI? They decided to relocate to Barbados they could have chosen another place, instead of people looking at it as a good opportunity and some much needed foreign exchange for us some are talking as though Ross is coming to be in competition with our UWI or or schools. All Barbados is doing is accommodating these people but all some can do is criticise because they support another party. I lived in another Island that had one of these Universities for many years and I know how the local people benefitted, we should have had them everysince.
The governments have nothing to do with the running of these Universities. Where I lived some students lived on Campus but most lived in apartments and houses owned by local people. I suggest that when you don’t know about something you find out rather than talk all the nonsense. What we should be doing is hoping that they are not targeted by some of the thugs that could be the children and grandchildren of some of you.
@ Susan Maynard.
That is the smartest comment I have seen lately regarding present and future education. In the early seventies I worked on an assembly line on the Canada US border, 75% of those jobs are now done by robots.
And while all this going on children with special needs and disabilities getting leave behind …
When government going hear parents cries and take us serious….
I do not care if the DLP or BLP is responsible for Ross university but it was a remarkable feat to have it all ready in such a short time .Congratulations is in order for Mark Maloney and prime minister Mia Motely for makin it happen.I hope Ross university students and staff are happy in they new dwellings in Barbados.
Has anyone wondered how the contractors at Coverley were able to build and commission a roundabout in a matter of weeks,and not like some we have seen built in the past for the government costing millions and which took ages to complete. Many motorists do not even know that this roundabout exists.I do hope that the incumbent and any future Minister of Transport & Works use the Coverley Roundabout Construction as a bench mark for any future roundabout construction.