Prime Minister Mia Mottley this evening appealed to Barbadians to stay the course as she presented her first national budget this afternoon.
Laying the foundation for the fiscal package, she detailed the progress made, citing Government’s domestic debt restructuring process and the International Monetary Fund’s approval of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan among other things.
She however acknowledged that where major challenges along the way, including the spike in gun-related violence.
“Guns poured into Barbados over the past five years and we now have a problem of gun crime not previously seen. Barbadians are naturally wary.
“It is a scourge we will not ignore or tolerate and we have already begun taking steps to counter. We must and we will do all in our power to save or young people,” she stressed.
Read our ePaper. Fast. Factual. Free.
Guns poured into Barbados over the last five years now. So at least this is not a ten year old problem like all other problems. Barbados was a perfect place with an excellent economy, beautiful law abiding citizens, prosperity, no gun crime or guns prior to 2008. That’s the gospel according to Mia Mottley.
Lil watery soup – where are the dumplings, yam, eddoes, chicken, sweet potatoes etc??
Mia u got a way with words I must hand u dat. Comparing the economy to an illness needing a full course of antibiotics.
She actually said nothing meaningful about tackling crime. Same old, same old. The murderers must be laughing all the way to their next kill. So the killing season will continue and become worse. Mark my words!
@Greengiant
From which street corner is the UPP (and DLP) replying to the Budget?
I’m still on island and would like a ringside seat to watch your leader Lynette Eastmond drivel.
Wonder if Verla, Guyson or Irene will be replying for the crooked DLP from their George Street parliament.
Yuh know none ah wunnah can’t go anywhere near Parliament yard in Bridgetown.
Dream on..
U C the problem with this people is that what they want Mia to say on crime she will not say, or should I say – she CANNOT say or rather have no say. Simple as that. The ass is in the air.
I said it, the drug/crime problem is a job for the PM cos no other seems to be able to put a dent in it.
Please give me the A,B,C on who what and when.
@ Carl Harpoon
Thee Tax Payers paying you to work Over seas and you bout here Liming
But guess what you work a whole day picking up Garbage and got Minister Pay, so nothing new
You spent $30 Million to build a Land fill in Greenland $30 million gone in people’s pockets and no Landfill can been be seen
Gal run way fool fool
How will you tackle crime let the citizens know of barbados how you will do it
Looka fat Albert
The only being can help us in this place is: The Creator…..I refuse to accept that ANYTHING will be done about the gun crime.
Compare Black communities to any other community and guns are ALWAYS ending up in ours, and THEY KNOW how, when and where.
Tired of being made a “scapegoat” for other ppl in this world. We never have anyone looking out for black ppl, they ALWAYS making our lives worse than what it has to be.
Bring back Tribes where everyone gathered together and HEARD exactly what was going on, this parliamentary system is TOO EXCLUSIVE at the expense of other people’s lives.
We put you in power to deal with these things, it is no secret we have gun crime and should be no secret WHO is responsible. Name names, like the rest of the world !!
If those in specific positions cannot do their jobs, Im sure there are plenty others who will be willing to replace them….especially where gun crime is concerned. An innocent person was killed this week and I would have hoped the PM would have more to say or tell us what is being done at the moment before more innocent people get hurt.
This is a dot of an Island….Search all the containers that are coming in and stop the slaughter of our people, because thats what it will come too…..Barbados is not safe anymore !!
What sacrifice is the prime minister and her cabinet making
Barbadians want positive and visible action on crime, not vague promises.
Well it took a decrease in tourists and visitors to get the ball rolling.
The tourists, visitors and even bajans living overseas are scared to visit :
Barbados – buhbados – The Gem of The Caribbean- Island in the Sun – BIM – Land of the Sea and Sun- Little England and now The murder Capital of the Caribbean.
carl/lix making mock sport at people..she dont pay bus fare…she dont catch de bus at all…she dont have to worry about the increases…laughing at poor people…but time longer than twine..remember..you wont always be laughing..ur day will also come…mark my words
@ PETER THE ROCK…..None, I dont see any, dem getting paid BIG TIME MONEY to do zero and just talk pure rubbish !!
“It is a scourge we will not ignore or tolerate and we have already begun taking steps to counter. We must and we will do all in our power to save or young people,” she stressed.
…………………………………………..
And immediately before and after this speech, two more dead bodies ,respectively , are lying in pools of blood.