Home » Posts » Shop Hill man to return to court next week

Shop Hill man to return to court next week

1 min read
Nealson Oneal Mason

A 40-year-old vendor who admitted to pushing a woman will return to the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court next Wednesday.

Nealson Oneal Mason, of Shop Hill, St Thomas had been charged with assaulting Philica McPherson on April 5, 2019.

Sergeant St Clair Phillips told Magistrate Douglas Frederick that McPherson was walking along High Street when she came across several persons standing in front a store where the accused was also vending. The woman tapped Mason and asked him for an excuse to pass but he responded by pushing her into the road. When she asked him why he had pushed her, he reportedly replied: “You is not from here so you can f*** off.”

However, Mason said the incident did not occur exactly in the manner the prosecutor outlined it.

“It was Friday . . . and customers were rushing all around . . . it was rush hour . . . we sell on the side walk . . . and she push me and I push she back. It did no lil tap . . . she tell me I blocking de road and she push me and I push back . . . and told her go off of me . . . it was a reaction because I don’t like she . . . .

“This morning . . . me and she eyes butt and mek four and she said ‘just wait’,” said Mason who explained that he was arrested, charged and appeared today which is his birthday.

He was released and given a stern
warning to stay away from the complainant. The two sides are expected to appear in court on April 17.