Home » Posts » ‘Hungry’ Maughn remanded

‘Hungry’ Maughn remanded

1 min read

For the next 28 days at least Ricardo Anderson Maughn will not have to worry about where his next meal will be coming from. Today, he was so hungry, he could not understand why the court wanted to remand him to HMP Dodds.

Station Sergeant Cameron Gibbons submitted to Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant that the 35-year-old be kept in custody given that he had no fixed place of abode and was unlikely to reappear for his trial.

Maughn is charged with unlawfully trespassing on the premises of Joann Haynes on February 25, when he had been forbidden to do so.

He pleaded not guilty to the charge but the prosecutor said there was a likelihood Maughn would re-offend having been warned on several occasions with respect to the offence now before the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court.

Asked by the magistrate why he should be granted bail Maughn responded: “Fuh wha? I cah get dah understand.”

When Magistrate Cuffy-Sargeant explained the charge leveled against him and the prosecution’s objected to bail, Maughn was again asked for reasons why the court should release him pending trial. “I want to go home. I hungry. I hungry.”

He was remanded to make his next court appearance March 26.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER