Home » Posts » Chrissy D’s destiny

Chrissy D’s destiny

5 min read

Fun, soulful, a bit romantic and hyped – these are all the characteristics that 26-year-old Christina Dottin embodies in her life and through her music. With a trademark deep voice that lends to her unique sound, the vocalist told Bajan Vibes that she consistently aims to switch up the style of music.

“I definitely change it up a lot depending on where I’m at in life mentally. A bit of groovy soca, love music here and there and then some power. I try my best not to put any restrictions on myself. Wherever my head is at reflects in my music.”

Known in soca circles as Chrissy D, the young vocalist always knew that the pursuit of a musical career was to be her destiny.

“Growing up watching TV, especially music videos, there was always a feeling that rushed over me every single time. I really want to do that; I want that life. I spent so many hours daydreaming of the day I got my shot to be on stage. I knew from the age of four I wanted the life of an entertainer.”

At the age of 18, she made her dreams a reality. Never one to shy away from making that all-important first step, she reached out to Anderson Mr Blood Armstrong who took her under his wing. Initially, the performer was content to let her music career follow an organic evolutionary process as she just went with the flow, but she has now opted for a different approach.

“I recently made a decision to take my career by the horns and guide it. I have set goals and I’m beginning to get an understanding of my own brand and where I want my career to go. So, at this point, my moves are deliberate.”

Music has played a significant role in her life. “It’s what I live for. I’ve never been able to just exist. I’ve always had to find a way to give to the world. That’s what gets me out of bed every morning – just knowing I’m contributing in some shape or form. Music and laughter are my contribution to the world,” she said.

Chrissy D has a deep appreciation for the role that music plays. “Whether people realize it or not, music is the soundtrack to our lives. When you hear certain songs, you can automatically match it with a memory. Whether it’s good or bad. Music is there and being an entertainer, I am contributing to that,” she noted.

This belief propels her to produce music that resonates with the listener. Generally, the songwriter draws inspiration from life experiences, but sometimes she just goes off on a whim when an idea hits her.

“I always try my best to look for unique topics to write about, and if it’s one that isn’t unique, I always find a different angle that will stand out.”

When asked about the artistes who inspire her, she candidly stated: “At this point, I’ve actually stopped myself from looking at anyone else for musical influence as I’m currently trying to find my own style, my own sound. So, I’m pretty much cancelling any outside noise for a bit while I’m going through this process.”

She admitted, “I do look up to Blood, FayAnn Lyons and though she hasn’t been publicly on the scene, I do admire Kimberley Inniss a lot. Her music is amazing. That’s my three!”

The performer’s schedule is usually jampacked. “I’m usually busy working. I am the lead singer of the Hit Island Band. I’m the activities coordinator for Barbados Beach Club and I’m also the property manager for a few villas, so I’m usually quite busy.”

She still manages to carve out some time for herself. Before getting into the music industry, the vocalist had a passion for dance and has been recently rekindling her love affair with the artform. A new found love for photography and film has also been blossoming.

The previous Party Monarch finalist has five hot new releases. So in the coming months, she is focused on promoting those tracks and preparing for the future. These must-listen-to tracks include Wuk Meh, Can’t Turn Back, Tek Time, Right Away and Next Year, which is special to her.

“My favourite right now is definitely Next Year. Goosebumps! Wow. The song deals with the cancellation of Crop Over this year but from a unique standpoint. You definitely got to check it out to understand. The feedback has been amazing. I’ve had people from all around the world reach out to me in relation to the track,” she added.

Chrissy D is a formidable force and is pragmatic in her approach to her career. She explained, “Most of the challenges I’ve encountered, I had the power to fix them and I did. My biggest challenge years ago was airplay and being seen. I grew to realize that if you give them something to play and give them something to see, everything else will align accordingly. If you present yourself in a certain manner, if you present a solid package, you are good to go!”

Though the chances of becoming an overnight success are slim she encouraged budding artistes, “Don’t give up, your time will come. If you really want this, focus on the journey.” (STT)