Speaking Out #BTSpeakingOut – Going beyond lip service by Barbados Today Traffic 24/10/2021 written by Barbados Today Traffic 24/10/2021 2 min read A+A- Reset Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappEmail 343 The views and opinions expressed by the author(s) do not represent the official position of Barbados TODAY. by Kammie Holder I will never in this life be a hypoctite or be so deceitful to accept that any person, or situation, is above reproach. Thus, I posit public outcry and digust around a viral video showing a child getting abused by a mother, using strong language, can be considered less than sincere. My views will most likely offend many, but the unpalatable truth is always bitter to swallow. What about the children who are denied access to their fathers every day because of our matriarchial society? Who cares that children are denied the opportunity to have their fathers participate in their school lives, because of a rule that says unless a father’s name is on the school registration form no acess to the child is allowed, not even a school report. Again who cares? The COVID-19 pandemic takes lives but gynocentricism destroys generations, and leads to teenage dysfunction. Let me say the outrage shown by the public is justified, but it cannot continue to be a seven-day wonder, if we are serious about child rights and want to be sincere in our concern. You Might Be Interested In Enlightened rastafari Twistory again! Time is running out Emotional abuse of children is very rampant in Barbados. I say a lack of sensitivity to this issue is of major concern to me. In the past, I was told of a case, by a school teacher, in which a primary school boy was bullied by his peers. Imagine kids asking another ‘you aint got nuh father’ and asking if ‘your father dead’, the innocence of child play. In another section of the press I see a article written by a retired educator speaking to kids in class crying after a literature class using the book” “How to Kill A Mockingbird.” Just tired of the lot of long talk in Barbados and a lack of real action to stop the physical and emotional abuse. Everybody seems unwilling to ruffle feathers, to ensure self preservation at the expense of nation building. Perhaps, someday, we will learn that its better to upset bedfellows, in furtherance of a better Barbados. Barbados Today Traffic You may also like #SpeakingOut – Preserve the Holetown Festival 18/02/2025 #BTSpeakingOut – Barbados makes its mark 08/12/2024 The people have spoken 12/11/2024