CourtLocal News Woman convicted of murdering partner by Jenique Belgrave 05/12/2025 written by Jenique Belgrave Updated by Barbados Today 05/12/2025 2 min read A+A- Reset Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappEmail 214 A 12-member jury has convicted Shenika Melinda St Pierre of murdering her partner, Herbert Callender, at her Garden Land, Country Road, St Michael home three years ago, following a trial in the No. 5 Supreme Court. The jury’s unanimous verdict was reached on Thursday afternoon after deliberating for an hour and forty minutes, following the trial’s summation by Justice Pamela Beckles. Two witnesses recalled that Callender and St Pierre were arguing at her home and then began fighting. One eyewitness testified that the two were in the doorway of the home and Callender was trying to leave and St Pierre pulled him back saying: “You ain’t leffin in hey.” The witness then recalled hearing Callender shout: “Aie, girl, wha’ you gone and do?” The accused pulled scissors from the centre of the Callender’s chest. Another told the court of hearing Callender scream before seeing him holding his bleeding chest, while St Pierre held a pair of scissors. In an unsworn statement from the dock, St Pierre said that she and Callender had been in a relationship that began in January of that year and that during that time, the deceased had become controlling. That night she had been drinking with friends at her home and had eventually gone into her bedroom with Callender before they began arguing and fighting, and she “cut at him with a knife.” You Might Be Interested In Alleged burglar remanded Crime spree Francis to undergo assessment St Pierre apologised for the incident before saying: “I take full responsibility for my actions. I was scared and tired of being pushed around and being humiliated and being a victim, but at no point in time did I intentionally plan to kill Herbie, but everything happened so fast.” She also admitted to lying to Callender’s mother and others about the incident, stating that she had been scared. Defence attorney Sian Lange asked for a pre-sentence report on St Pierre, who had been previously convicted of assault and assault occasioning actual bodily harm. Acting Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions Krystal Delaney and Senior State Counsel Kevin Forde prosecuted the trial, which was adjourned until March 12. Jenique Belgrave You may also like Atherley rules himself out of February 11 election 19/01/2026 BADMC to review yam prices by April 19/01/2026 New coalition pushes for reform, fairer representation, voter re-engagement 19/01/2026