‘Dangerous offender’ gets life for 2014 murder  

A St Michael man described by a High Court judge as a “dangerous offender” who poses “a high level of threat” to the public has been jailed for life, with a minimum term of 40 years, for the 2014 murder of 22-year-old Josiah Clermont.  

Richard Shamario Worrell of Derriston Road, Grazettes, St Michael, was convicted by a jury of the February 15, 2014 slaying. He was sentenced to life imprisonment with a tariff of 40 years.

Delivering the sentence in the No. 5 Supreme Court on Wednesday, Justice Pamela Beckles asserted: “You were 24 years old at the time of this offence and are now 35 years old. The deceased Josiah Clermont was only 22 years old, and no sentence which this court imposes will bring him back to his family. In spite of your relative youthfulness, you were old enough to recognise the consequences of your actions.” 

“This was not your first brush with the law. Recognising that this was a violent and senseless offence and that before this, you were convicted of another serious offence and have been convicted after this offence, I consider that you are a dangerous offender and I conclude that there is a significant risk that you will commit violent offences in the future and that members of the public will be seriously injured either physically or psychologically.”

“I therefore sentence you to imprisonment for life with a minimum term of 40 years, less the 981 days you spent on remand before you are eligible for parole.”  

Noting that he had been deemed as having a high risk of reoffending, the judge pointed to his list of previous offences between 2009 and 2023, which included convictions for possession of four firearms and ammunition, several counts of recklessly endangering lives, as well as for discharging a firearm in a public place and having cannabis.  

“What is particularly disturbing and worrisome is that some of these offences were committed subsequent to the date of this murder…and it has been noted that you pose a significant threat to the community,” she added.

Aggravating to the offence, the judge stated, was the nature and gravity, the loss of life, the prevalence in society, the use of a firearm and the non-recovery of the weapon, the premeditated plan of robbing the victim, the beating of Clermont by the convicted man and others. Also, the fact that others verbally and physically tried to intercede on the deceased’s behalf but this was ignored, the deceased being shot in the back while fleeing, that the offence was done in public and that shells were disposed of in an effort to conceal evidence.  

“I have considered the submissions made to me and have determined that your level of culpability was high in relation to this offence, and have also borne in mind that such an offence calls for a deterrent and cumulative sentence. In the circumstances of this case, this court in the exercise of its discretion has determined a starting point of 40 years’ imprisonment as appropriate to meet the interest of justice,” she said.  

During the trial, the evidence revealed that a number of persons were liming in Gaskin Road, Fairfield, St Michael. The accused came into the area accompanied by two other men, and persons saw him repeatedly asking Clermont about a gun’s location, while being beaten by the men. 

Clermont denied knowledge of the gun while the females who were present attempted to go to his rescue and tried unsuccessfully to pull him away from them. 

According to the witnesses, Worrell was the only person seen with a gun. They saw the men pull the deceased into a track and later heard a loud explosion, which sounded like a gunshot. Clermont died at the scene.  

Attorney Zaria Taylor represented the convicted man in association with King’s Counsel Michael Lashley, while Senior State Counsel Kevin Forde appeared on behalf of the State.  

Related posts

Graduates raise the bar as community training stirs up new opportunities  

ICC suspends Jones for breaching corruption codes

President launches national youth mentorship drive during Graydon Sealy school visit  

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy