Pro-gangster track features Lil Rick, Peter Ram in praise of gunplay

A viral music video featuring prominent entertainers Lil Rick and Peter Ram whose pro-gangster explicit lyrics deliver death threats to gangland informants on Monday night drew public outrage and condemnation by Home Affairs Minister Wilfred Abrahams.

“Irresponsible to the highest order,” Abrahams told Barbados TODAY as shocked viewers took to social media to blast the video, an apparent local copycat of

gangster rap styles in Jamaican dancehall and American hip-hop that was released a month ago. The song is produced by Dwain “Dwaingerous” Antrobus.

The leading artistes featured in the 16-minute video called the Trojan Riddim Barbados Dancehall Mix also includes Mole, Reigning Bashment Soca King SK, Brutal Cranstar, Leadpipe of Sometimes fame, Chef Din, among others.

While the video contains violent and obscene language, images of guns, hearses and the word murder, it is the unmistakable declaration of death on informants and the glorification of guns and gun violence in a supposed war that has gripped the attention of viewers.

In the opening, Lil Rick sings: “Shoot straight like Messi from Argentina, with a big f**** gun singing sweet like Selena. Gunshot clap out and skin you out like Sabrina ‘cause you like to inform and run chat pon social media. Ya idiot, nobody ain’t ‘fraid for you, me neither. We shot you up to pieces, lef’ your body ‘pon de freezer like meat so when them violate, just know wha’ we pulling up with…”

The chorus goes on to list popular gangland weapons, even “the old rusty rife with the knife ‘pon the tip”, as he promises “gunshot like a storm” in tit-for-tat retribution for past slayings.

Among outraged viewers was the Minister of Home Affairs who declared Monday night: “I accept there is artistic expression but it must not be irresponsible, it is irresponsible to the highest order.

Abrahams said he was prepared to recommend to ministers that Government send the strongest possible message to artistes and the people of Barbados that this is not okay.

He was adamant that Government’s priority is to stamp out gun violence and made clear that “Government does not condone the use of illegal firearms in any form or fashion”.

Voice of Barbados talkshow host David Ellis drew attention to the video on Monday’s edition of Down to Brasstacks, insisting it was unacceptable.

“When you look at the video they have the guns showing off,” the retired journalist said. “While other people ‘bout here fighting hard to reduce the incidence of violence in Barbados, they are promoting violence that can take the life of anybody, not just a policeman.

“If we are not careful somebody at a much higher level will get taken out, because of what is going on around here, but it is a double standard.”

Ellis further questioned whether any Barbadian artistes who have been getting financial support from Government to cope with COVID-19 challenges performed in the viral video. If this was the case, he said public funding should be immediately cut.

“The Government of Barbados should not be putting any money behind any artistes in Barbados in this country who is encouraging gun violence in Barbados.  It is unacceptable,” he declared.

Another major bone of contention for many is the fact that both Peter Ram and Mole are part of the Ministry of Education’s Anti-Violence and Peace campaign which was launched in public schools back in 2018 following an incident at Princess Margaret School.

The video has also provoked a firestorm on social media with many commenters contending it was out of line.

“So what do we do as a nation when our artists are promoting gun violence especially in this climate of escalating crime? I will ask the question since some people are afraid to,” said one commenter.

“To all DJs, artistes and producers who promote violence of any kind, you should be ashamed.”

“Children need proper role models! Stop the gun violence,” said another.

The mounting homicide death toll of the last three years has featured gang warfare over turf or control of the illegal drug and weapons trade and predatory attacks by armed individuals and groups followed by reprisals. Eight people were slain for the first five months of the year, among them Police Sargeant Newton Lewis who was gunned down as he was responding to an armed robbery in his Rose Hill, St Peter neighbourhood.

So far, none of the alleged three gunmen has been apprehended.
(sandydeane@barbadostoday.bb)

Related posts

11-Plus: Have we been looking at it the wrong way?

Fire in Black Rock displaces elderly siblings

Statement by Prime Minister Mottley on the passing of former sports journalist Sam Wilkinson

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy