Election Elections Local News PM Mottley backs McConney and Gibbs Barbados Today06/01/20220217 views Prime Minister Mia Mottley is asking Barbadians to vote for representation, and not entertainment, in the upcoming general elections. Her plea came Tuesday as she lent her support to Kay McConney and Chris Gibbs who both launched their campaigns in the St Philip West and St Michael West constituencies, respectively, during a virtual presentation. Prime Minister Mottley urged Barbadians not to be swayed by theatrics and entertainment, but to vote with their conscience for true representation. “In entertainment, money will get taken out of your pocket, in representation money might get put in your pocket because [it is] going to create an opportunity to live, and live well. “I say to you, with all sincerity, that we have reached a point where we have to get serious about what faces us as a country,” she said. In endorsing the BLP’s St Philip West candidate who replaces John King who is not running in the January 19 election, Mottley said the constituency deserves sustained leadership in the form of McConney, as the island moves through a difficult economic period. “She has shown what it is to be able to deliver as the head of a government department with young people, in diplomatic representation at the consular level in Canada, at the level of ambassador in Geneva, and at the level of minister in the cabinet of Barbados,” the Prime Minister said. “Area by area, in spite of the fact that she has been on the ground for less than two or three months, this young lady has delivered already to give the people of St Philip West the confidence that in her they have a person who cares, who is empathetic, who understands what her mission is, and who is not going to run and hide from you, not hide behind any kind of liming and liquor in order to be able to be a bridge to you and representation.” McConney will be going up against former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) MP for the area, Dr David Estwick who announced his return to politics after the elections were announced last week. (SB)