Barbados Jazz Excursion and Golf Weekend a resounding success

Songstress Vaughnette Bigford.

The curtain came down on the 2022 edition of the Barbados Jazz Excursion and Golf Weekend with an absolutely phenomenal show this past Sunday night. The Grand Finale Jam Session was the last in the four-part concert series which took place at the Frank Collymore Hall this past weekend. Organiser Elan Trotman set himself the task of raising US$10, 000 to fund the Headstart Music Program through his Never Lose Your Drive Foundation and that milestone was reached.

Throughout the festivities, attendees stepped out in their finest to match the designated themes as they partied until morning in the upbeat after parties. Whether it was the Tropical Vibes of opening night, an all-white attire affair for Ladies Night on Friday, Back in Time on Saturday night or representing their school, sorority or favourite team on Sunday, patrons remained committed to having a wonderful time.

The female brigade was out in full force, with Trinidadian singer Vaughnette Bigford setting a high bar with her distinctive style. She added her own panache to Patrice Roberts’ Mind My Business and Blaxx’s Gyal Owner. She was followed by flautist Kim Scott who showed her musical prowess switching instruments mid song to create the mood in her rendition of Daniel Caesars Best Part. Mahalia Cummins with her band 2 Mile Hill were the icing on the cake with their rapid-fire delivery of a slew of hits which crossed genres in spectacular form.

Mahalia Cummins of 2 Mile Hill.

This was followed by Strings and Keys on Saturday night. Rebecca Jade opened the show displaying her skill as both a guitarist and vocalist. Also thrilling with his nimble finger work on the guitar was Paul Jackson Jr. Keyboardist extraordinaire Frank McComb stole the show, and even though technical difficulties delayed the start of his set, he was well worth the wait.

Nothing could have prepared patrons for the boss performance delivered by Marcus Anderson on the final night. Whether  it was his commanding presence on the saxophone or his serene, dulcet tones on the flute, Anderson shelled the house down with a bomb performance. His musical mastery kept the audience on their feet throughout his set. Trombonist Jeff Bradshaw kept the levels high as the music reverberated through the Frank Collymore Hall pleasing his fans.

Each night seemed to top the last and the anticipation is high to see who next year’s package will include. (STT)

Marcus Anderson performed at the grand finale.

Related posts

Fogging In St James and St Thomas this week

QEH responds to patient surge at AED

Bradshaw: Accelerated Mill and Pave Programme improved road conditions

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy