Key questions must be asked about crime issue

The scene where Zakhir Goodridge and four others were shot

Issues such as crime and poverty are social issues. There is no doubt about it. There are issues that have been with mankind since the beginning of time based on what the history books have taught us.

However, these topics often become political issues because in a sense we depend on the powers that be to use their good office to prevent and manage such.

We concede there will never be full eradication of poverty or zero crime. Such utopia does not exist.

The apparent resurgence of murders in recent weeks has brought the menacing issues of crime to the fore yet again, and rightly so. Crime does not simply affect the victim or the perpetrator, it has a holistic impact. Killings committed in a community rocks the entire neighbourhood. Those who lose a loved one are affected; those who witness the crime are affected; those who live in the area are affected. The entire country is jolted whether you know the individual or not.

It places an added burden on government resources. It adds to the load of the Police Service, the Judicial system and the penal system.

Added to all that, at a time like this when tourism authorities are reporting an increase in visitor arrivals due to the staging of the ICC T20 World Cup, it affects our country’s image as well.

On Wednesday, Zakhir Avion Goodridge, 19, from Crescent Hill, Gall Hill, Christ Church was shot and killed while four others whom he had been liming with just outside the Aberdeene Jones Centre on the corner of Crescent Road and Upper Gall Hill Road, are now nursing gunshot wounds.

According to reports, there were gunshots just before 9.30 a.m., sending residents and people doing business at the nearby offices, shops and in the centre and Market scampering.

The day before on Tuesday evening, Shawn Williams, 44, was shot and killed just steps from his Boscobelle, St Peter home. Williams had just returned home from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, where his father Pearson Williams had dropped him off around 6:45 p.m.

Communications and public affairs officer Inspector Rodney Inniss confirmed that police responded to a report of a shooting incident at approximately 6:50 p.m.

“He was walking the pathway to his house when a number of explosions were heard and the deceased was later discovered motionless on the ground. Investigations are ongoing,” Inniss explained.

Last week, two St Michael men were killed in separate shootings. Chad Roett, 32, of Proute, St Thomas, and Raheam Brathwaite, 30, of Melvin’s Avenue, Black Rock, were shot within minutes of each other. One at 9:50 p.m. in 4th Avenue, Harts and the other around 9:58 p.m. in Boyce’s Road, Free Hill, Black Rock.

Of grave concern is that one of the four gunshot victims in Gall Hill, Christ Church is a 15-year-old, with two at 18 and one at age 20. Inniss lamented: “Right away you see the age group you’re dealing with. And that makes it even more . . . uncomfortable.”

Even at the time of writing, police have issued a wanted notice for 17-year-old Akeem Grazette, alias Smiley or Bubbles, who is wanted for questioning in connection with serious criminal matters. The statement read: “He is considered to be armed and dangerous.”

What can be done to reach these young and wayward offenders? Government has been attempting to wrestle the issue to the ground through the National Peace Programme introduced a year ago.

The intent of the programme, to curb and prevent crime, must be lauded. The successes that have been recorded thus far must be recognised.

We have heard from the principals that over 1 200 young people have been engaged already in the programme. However, we are keen to hear from some of the participants, even if through anonymity, how the programme has positively impacted them.

The country needs the data to support any “success” suggested by the powers that be. Empirical evidence is needed especially since there appears to be a resurgence of criminal activity.

Alison Roach Plummer, the programme’s director said  when the youth are told to put down the gun, they are asking for a more meaningful replacement, such as skills training that would equip them for employment.

And that bring us to the questions. Are there enough activities to engage these young minds? Is enough being done to equip them for gainful and consistent legitimate employment? Are job opportunities being created so that they can capitalise on them?

There are key questions that need to be answered. Some relate to the National Peace Programme and some to the question of governance and political strategies being implemented to address the contentious and deadly issue of crime.

Related posts

Man collapses and dies

Three left homeless after St Joseph fire

Salt In West Indies Wounds

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy