Accused gives defence in escape trial

An accused escapee explained to a nine-member jury that while waiting at the police station, an officer told him that he could leave and he did just that.

This was the testimony of Akeem Ricardo Griffith as he spoke in his defence from the witness stand in the No. 4A Supreme Court earlier this week.

The resident of Montrose, Silver Hill, Christ Church, has denied that on December 4, 2022, being a person in lawful custody, having been arrested for the offence of robbery, he did escape without the use of force.

Griffith, who is self-represented, stated that on the day before the alleged incident, he left home in the company of two of his friends to meet his girlfriend at the bus stop, when a police vehicle pulled up and an officer asked to speak to him.

After the policeman told him it would not take long “and I could come back when I finish”, he got into the vehicle and was taken to the Oistins Police Station where the officers told him they wanted to question him about a robbery the previous day. He told them of his whereabouts and was then transported to the police station at Boarded Hall where he spent the night in a cell.

The next day, he was taken to his home, which was searched in his presence and then escorted to Queen’s Park for a COVID-19 test. He was then taken back to the Boarded Hall Police Station and placed on a bench.  It was there that he told an officer that he wanted to go home as they “got me here stick up long”.

The accused testified that the officer replied “Well, if you want to go long, go to **** long. If the police want you, they know where to find you. As far as I know, them business with you done.”

Griffith said he remained on the bench and eventually fell asleep. When he awoke, he spoke to the same officer who told him that as far as he knew, he was not under arrest and he was unsure why he was there.

“I left and walk through the little side door, pass under the arch and walk down by the new buildings that now build where I used to work, and ask a guy there for some bus fare . . . . He gave me a $10 bill and I catch the bus and I went back home about my business. Some time after, I was in Oistins a morning time, went to the doctor office and as soon as I come out the doctor office heading back to go to the car, a number of officers running pon foot and a number of jeeps surround me. Firearms was pull on me telling me to lay down pon the ground and I did so. Officers arrest me for escaping custody,” he testified.

Principal State Counsel Joyann Catwell is prosecuting the matter while Madam Justice Wanda Blair presides.

The matter continues on Friday.

Related posts

Judge laments decade delay, orders compensation to accident victim’s family

St Michael man charged with murder

Teen ditched gun in toilet as police pursued him

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy