‘Sometime’ and more . . . Plenty love for Lead Pipe

Coming off of a relatively successful Trinidad Carnival run, Lead Pipe had a return home event titled Heart of a Champion which merged with McBrides weekly event, Soca Rush, last Wednesday night.

It was a welcome-home-Lead-Pipe type of party as a crowd of feters converged in St Lawrence Gap at McBrides. Lead Pipe & Saddis, along with other local acts, provided solid, live entertainment for the crowd.

A youthful Grateful Co did Do Ting; Jus D sang Hole and Manager and their counterpart, Shaquille, performed Darling and Collateral. Lone female performer, Faith, sang Mango. She was surrounded by the ladies who could not get enough as they took out cell phones to record her engaging performance.

Walkes, who was also part of the International Soca Monarch Semis, also had something to celebrate. He had the privilege of representing both his country and himself on a Trinidad stage.

At McBrides he sang Meet Meat and Champion of Colours; the latter was his entry for the Power Soca competition.

After a decent warm-up session, fans were more than eager to see the man of the hour. When he hit the stage, it was hit after hit and the crowd clearly enjoyed every minute of it.

Eventually, accompanied by his partner Saddis, Lead Pipe came on stage. The duo sang: Sometime, Drink Till Morning, Carnival Addiction, Ah Feeling, Ben Up, Condense, Rabbit, Hop in De Bar, Shackle Out, Wuk It Good, Move, Done Wid It among others.

Shadia Marshall who won NIFCA Gold for her rearranged ballad-type version of Sometime was there and delivered her tune as well. But of course, the crowd was screaming to hear the original version from Lead Pipe.

There were happy faces, fun and frolic as the party crowd celebrated with the 2019 Tune of the Crop winner. (IMC)

Related posts

Celtic Festival kicks off

The Ultimate Celebration closes Saint Lucia Jazz on a high note

World-class beats at Saint Lucia Jazz & Arts Festival

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy