Court Local News Blackett ‘carried’ away after court hearing Barbados Today19/03/20200474 views Officers were called on to lift an accused from the precincts of the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court today after he appeared to fall as he was being escorted out and refused to get up. Twenty-four-year-old Nazim Timon Blackett, of Lot 1D Meadow Road, Wildey, St Michael who was reportedly caught on a widely circulated video in an incident with police, had just been refused bail by Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant. While he was being escorted out the court by a prison officer Blackett apparently fell as he went down the steps. He then seemingly refused to move resulting in almost half dozen officers having to lift and carry him from the courtyard. Prosecutor Victoria Taitt had earlier objected to bail for the accused on the grounds that police must be given the opportunity to do their jobs without harassment or abuse. She also objected to Blackett being granted bail at this time telling the magistrate that the accused had absconded from court on a 2016 burglary charge for which he had been on $15,000 bail. January 2017, was the last time he made a court appearance, she said about the accused who is known to the court. Blackett is alleged to have used the insulting words “Give my name fa wha, you p***y, you ain’t find anything pun me. I ain’t f****ng ‘round wunna, I gone.” The offence occurred on March 17. On that same day he is further alleged to have assaulted and resisted officer Kenrick King as well as assaulted constable Lemar Daniel. He pleaded not guilty to all the charges. In his application to secure bail Blackett told the court he had been in jail in 2017 where he had spent 22 months. “I never miss a court date and I have a fixed place of abode,” he told the magistrate. His application was not successful and Magistrate Cuffy-Sargeant remanded him to Dodds until April 15.