Neesha ministers . . . Entertainer gives thanks and praises during Facebook Live

The gospel concerts for pre summer have been cancelled, so Neesha Woodz had her own version via Facebook Live recently. The crowd of about 200, mainly Bajans and Dominicans, got a taste of what the artist was cooking up recently.

The live, which was a little shorter than an hour, started with Jamaican Teena Tamara’s song called In The Valley, which Neesha described as a source of encouragement and commitment during this time.

Dressed in a mauve top and matching lipstick, Neesha danced to the reggae number in the studio room. Keeping it simple with jewelry, she showed out with her silver feather necklace, a black jacket and beautiful locs styled in a high ponytail.

“He saw my need” was the recurring chorus by Neesha. “Just be encouraged everybody, that even in the valley he will see and meet your needs.”

Before going onto the next song called Follow, she quoted scripture for those following the live. “I just want to encourage you that surely goodness and mercy will follow you all the days of your life if you dwell in the house of the Lord.” She said this was one of her more recent recordings.

Neesha stirred up audience interaction as she called for the watch party to put their hands in the air. During this time, she herself waved her hands in the air from left to right.

The song was basically about following God forever and telling the devil that you, as a follower of Christ, are covered by God. Neesha did a scant in front of the microphone as she rattled off lyrics in true gospel-reggae style.

She went into her next song, Defender, but first she hyped up her following yet again. “How many people know that God is your defender? Even when people say bad things about you, your family members, your neighbours, your co-workers, it doesn’t matter, even the church goers, God has your back! Let’s go.” As if on stage with a full live band and backup dancers, Woodz went off in the studio for about a full five minutes.

Then it was time for the next song, Express Yuh Self and Neesha spoke to her audience once again. “God is our defender. He is our fortress and everything that we need. Amen! This next song says express yuhself. So if you’re just sitting down and twiddling your thumbs, I want you to get up and dance for Jesus.” She began to truly worship as she jumped up and down in the midst of the song.

Up next was a 2016 number, So Amazing, which is a favourite of many with over 130,000 views on YouTube. Neesha also went in with this one as she waved her hands in total surrender. As if communing with the Holy Spirit, she continued to sing with her eyes closed.

“God’s love is super-duper amazing. Shout out to all my Dominican fans and those living in Houston, New York, wherever you are! I absolutely love Dominica, my favourite nature isle and I can’t wait to be back.” Neesha explained that she had a fan base in Dominica and they were logged on for the concert.

Neesha went on to perform her hype soca gospel song Fyah. She showed that Christians too can enjoy soca as she bopped and jumped around to this one. Many dropped hearts in the chat and hands clapped for the song. She finally closed the session with another soca song, Adrenaline. And like the instructions of the song, Neesha waved her rag in hand as she praised and worshipped.

She finally thanked the audience for logging on and joining her for the live. Joining her was DJ Rodney and musician Joel Brooks. (MR)

Related posts

World-class beats at Saint Lucia Jazz & Arts Festival

Caribbean Fusion brings the energy at Saint Lucia Jazz & Arts Festival

Stunning vocals at Pure Jazz Ladies in Concert

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy