A virtual sensation . . . Police Force Band aced first-ever online event

The Royal Barbados Police Force Band’s annual concert In Harmony went viral this year and the virtual concert which was broadcast on CBC TV8, YouTube and Facebook reached way more eyeballs than it had in recent years as over 10,000 viewers were recorded online alone. And though the gains of a cover charge will be missed, the Force would be pleased with the increased audience and positive feedback.

After last year’s concert, held at the Prince Cave Hall at the District ‘A’ Police Station, Station Hill, St Michael, Bajan Vibes penned a report lamenting the fact that the hall was not packed to capacity given the mastery of music provided by the band. Not only was the cover price cheap and affordable, but last year’s concert was staged to help the Cancer Support Services.

It was heartening to see that the sweet sounds of the band had been embraced by so many.

Again this year, under the conductorship Director of Music, Senior Superintendent Andrew Lynch, the band was superb as it performed musicals as well accompanied live performers. A female officer sang Chaka Khan’s Through the Fire and Shirley Caesar’s He’ll Do It Again.

The RBPF Band showed off its musical skill and versatility confirming what most of

us know and some say that it is indeed the best musical band in Barbados.

Multiple comments on social media throughout the night reflected viewers’ overwhelming enjoyment of the concert.

Trinity, the youngest performer, was the first to grace the stage. The songbird performed at last year’s concert as well. She serenaded with Hero and God is Good.

She was followed by veteran entertainer AC. He sang Morgan Heritage’s Down By the River, gave a bit of spouge with Jackie Opel’s Vehicle and ended with the 2018 hit song Soca You.

Mr Blood gave a sample of what to expect from his upcoming album set to be released Friday. The former Calypso Monarch ended with sweet soca tune Ah Cyan Wait.

Songstress Nikita kept the groove going with God Job, a ballad type song that allowed her to show off her vocal range. Her final song was Tequila, the popular song she sings with King Bubba FM.

Soca Monarch Mikey brought some party to the atmosphere with Enjoy Meh Life. He complimented that energy and hype with Wukkin Friend and Feting Family.

Edwin The General started with a moving rendition of his recent remake of Bridge Over Troubled Water, a song dedicated to the frontline workers. He swiftly changed the vibe with Pump Me Up and Home Sweet Home before ending with Sak Pase.

RPB performed the same duty he did last year by closing the night’s performances. The cultural ambassador blessed the concert with I Am Alive. RPB then brought more party vibes to the evening with Something’s Happening and Boat Ride.

All entertainers did a short video talking about how they have been coping throughout the COVID-19 global pandemic crisis. They all gave words of encouragement to viewers while vowing to tackle the trying period together as a nation. Hosting the concert was Jamar The Star. (IMC)

Related posts

Shenseea Joins Tipsy Music Festival (TMF) 2024 Day 2 Lineup

Celtic Festival kicks off

The Ultimate Celebration closes Saint Lucia Jazz on a high note

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy