Celebration cancelled but festival ‘takes to screen’

Crop Over 2020 was cancelled by the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, but a group of producers and entertainers have joined forces to stage a virtual version of the season with the launch of Crop Over TV channel by privately-owned commercial station Trident10.

The channel is expected to feature live events showcasing 2020 soca and calypso music, a talk show, and even a jump-up day to replace the annual Kadooment Day climax.

In an overview of Crop Over TV’s programming at its launch at Ball Park, Christ Church, Kimtara Clarke, Operations Director of Trident Entertainment Network which will manage its distribution and platform said the objective of Crop Over TV is to take a virtual presence to households.

Audiences will be able to attend some of the live events and recorded events, including daily talk show The Scoop, Tune Fuh Tune, a showcase of Barbadian, regional and international deejays, Block Party, Crop Over Karaoke, Dissecting the Culture, a Slow Chef cooking show and Jump Up Day which will be a multi-stream from band houses.

Clarke said: “Over the next few weeks we will be providing a variety of shows, so you can expect comedy, live discussions, of course, your music base content. Some of the content we are creating will be pay per view as well, but most of it will be live for you to enjoy whether you join us here at Ball Park or if you join us on CropOver.TV, or on the MCTV or DigicelPlay platform.

The management team of Crop Over TV.

“The channel is a 24-hour channel and it will be highlighting Barbadian artiste, collaborations for the Crop Over season, and of course we will be taking a look back at some of the seasons that have passed. So from us at Crop Over TV we want to welcome you to enjoy Crop Over 2020 with a difference; join us online, on Facebook, on all the social media platforms and of course, on our Trident10 channel.”

Chairman of the Crop Over TV management team, Hallam Nicholls, said sponsors have been contacting the team daily inquiring about how to become a part of the initiative.

“I want to let you know that this will not be the end, this is actually the beginning. So right through the year now we have to meet and look at other events, especially at Christmas,” said Nicholls. “We don’t know what’s going to happen with respect to COVID-19 but we are here to give you some recreation at this wonderful venue.”

anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb

Related posts

Man injured in altercation in The City

St Lucy man, 64, dies following road accident

St. Matthias Magistrates’ Court Complex to remain closed

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy