BL&P supports four community groups

The Barbados Light & Power Company, like many other companies, make social responsibility and “giving back” to local communities a priority.

These community groups and organizations depend on this support to accomplish activities and to deliver on their promises to members and the community residents alike. It is the natural cycle of working together, companies and communities, to build a better, stronger Barbados.

Manager of Communications and Government Relations, Jackie Marshall-Clarke emphasized this, noting that: “For us, building stronger communities is about social responsibility, and Light & Power takes this aspect of its business very seriously.

Every year, our company commits significant resources, through funding and through our people, to help us meet this obligation.

As expected, it is always done in a very structured manner to ensure the best use of the resources.

Collaboration and partnerships are also key to us as we work with and watch organisations and their people, achieve goals. Indeed, we are always happy to support the communities that we serve with electricity every day.”

Recently, four new organisations became partners with the company and confirmed their arrangement of working together for the next two years.

They are Crime Stoppers Barbados, PAREDOS, Keratoconus Barbados and the TVET Council.

While Light & Power will support their activities and outreach programmes, the organisations will provide the company with educational programmes for employees or any such benefits during the period.

Programme Director of Crime Stoppers Barbados Sherie Holder-Olutayo explained the objectives of the organisation and its efforts to make Barbados a safe place to live.

“In addition to anonymous tips to assist with criminal activity, we also facilitate school programmes. One of which is anger management and conflict resolution for secondary school students.

“The ‘Kool Yuh Head’ programme has now been presented in 18 of the island’s 21 secondary schools and helped over 25 000 students. We are pleased to partner with Light & Power to further enhance this programme. Working in the schools where a lot of behaviours are embedded, we are hoping to stop a trend of deviant behaviour,” she said.

Marshall-Clarke endorsed the efforts of Crime Stoppers Barbados, reiterating that the company was looking forward to working with them, as with the others.

“Safety, health, and wellbeing are critical in the lives of all Light & Power employees and for every Barbadian. We will continue to lend support to these specific areas as well as others, hoping that it will make a difference in the livelihood of our people and in our communities.

“We are already deeply invested and this will not change in the coming years. We will commit to creating even more supportive environments and being a good corporate citizen at all times, for the betterment of Barbados,” Marshall-Clarke said. (PR)

Related posts

BWU, NTI launch online education portal

St Stephen’s Primary students urged to act right under new policy

Shanequa ready to flex her muscles

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy