Bold thieves make off with cash register

A brazen robbery by two men has forced a Christ Church grocery to consider installing additional security.

The two culprits, one wielding a gun, stole several bottles of liquor and a cash register containing an undisclosed sum of money from Roy Smith’s grocery in Silver Sands, around 5:55 p.m. on Tuesday.

A video of the startling robbery has been making the rounds on social media.

When Barbados TODAY visited the shop this evening it was open and patrons were seen liming outside as usual.

Horace Mitchell, who was working the cash register when the assailants entered the establishment, said he was startled because things happened so quickly.

“I was standing up behind the register and they came into the shop and one of the men pointed a gun at me and other people in the shop so I just stepped back and the other man took the cash register,” Mitchell recalled.

He said management was looking at providing additional security at the business, which has been in operation for several decades.

Despite the incident, Mitchell said business would continue to operate as usual.

“It happened on Tuesday night and we closed that same night but we reopened on Wednesday night. We don’t have any additional security right now but there are plans to,” he said.

He said it was not the first time intruders had targeted the grocery.

“We have had so many break-ins here already, lots of break-ins. We had one robbery before but that person didn’t get anything,” Mitchell said.
(randybennett@barbadostoday.bb)

Related posts

Berinda Cox Fish Market closed on Monday

CIBC Caribbean honours outstanding employees

Statement by Prime Minister Mia Mottley on the passing of Charles Grant

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy