#BTColumn – Hold on to faith

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by this author are their own and do not represent the official position of the Barbados Today.

by Suleiman Bulbulia

I share the second part of my address/sermon to the National Independence Service of Thanksgiving delivered two Sundays ago. I take this opportunity to thank all those who have expressed their condolences on the passing of my father and who have commended the address.

The COVID-19 pandemic has dragged us all into unprecedented times. Too many are facing great hardships, uncertainties, and anxieties. Families are desperately trying to make ends meet, using up their meagre resources and life savings. This virus does not differentiate between rich or poor, black or white, ruler or ruled, it attacks all in its path. And once again, our belief in the Almighty is being tested.

Brothers and sisters, we are a people of faith and we put our trust in God. That is the legacy left to us by the noble Prophets – Abraham, Solomon, Moses, Jesus and Muhammad – leaders who walked this earth in humble obedience to God’s commands but who left for us life lessons that will last an eternity.

We hold on to our faith in times of plenty and in times of need. We are promised that with every hardship comes ease. In a chapter of the Quran titled The Expansion God reveals: “fa inna ma’al ‘usri yusra, inna ma’al ‘usri yusra.”

For truly with hardship comes ease! Truly, with hardship comes ease! And when that ease comes and by God’s promise it will, and He has guaranteed us it will, when we are relieved of whatever burden we carry, the hardship of a global pandemic and its impact on our lives, our businesses, our country, God tells us to deepen our acts of worship and obedience, and let not our desires be for the material things of this world, but rather for God alone.

The Bible also has a reminder: “For his anger is but for a moment; His favour is for a life-time: Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy cometh in the morning.”

This national candle that we lit last year as a symbol of light and hope in our nation is nothing but a tower of wax if it doesn’t burn. Unless the flame of this candle shines, there is no value to the candle. It is the light of this candle that dispels the darkness. It is the light of this candle that allows us to see the way.

Today, we lift up those who are our brightly shining candles – our frontline workers. They are the heroes during this pandemic, they are the manifestations of the legacy of faith and hope bequeathed to humanity by the people of faith from amongst our ancestors. The nurse that leaves his/her family at home and courageously reports to work tending to the sick renews hope in all of us. The home helpers who look after the elderly and the vulnerable in our society renew hope, the volunteers who give out food, help the needy and disadvantage renew hope.

The teachers who impart knowledge and learning to our children are our hope.

All our frontline workers renew hope. We pray that God will protect them, keep them safe and return them to their families and loved ones in good health.

I ask God Almighty to heal those who are broken-hearted, those suffering from poverty and unemployment, from domestic abuse, from mental, psychological and emotional distress, comfort the homeless, our elders, the disabled, the orphans, and provide relief for those who are suffering from drug and alcohol addiction, NCDs and other health complications.

This morning, I extend my sincerest appreciation to the members of the Clergy Committee who did not object when it was suggested that I deliver this address. They dared ask why not when others asked why? They understood that regardless of faith, race or background, it makes me no less of a Barbadian or better yet… a Bajan.

On behalf of the Muslim community of Barbados, we are truly honoured and humbled for this opportunity. We are also appreciative and grateful of the recent enactment of a policy that allows women and men to don their head coverings for religious reasons when taking official photographs.

Permit to close with a few verses from Maya Angelou’s poem “Continue”.

Into a world which needed you

My wish for you

Is that you continue

Continue

To be who and how you are

To astonish a mean world

With your acts of kindness

Continue

In a society dark with cruelty

To let the people hear the grandeur

Of God in the peals of your laughter

Continue

To let your eloquence

Elevate the people to heights

They had only imagined

Continue

To remind the people that

Each is as good as the other

And that no one is beneath

Nor above you

Continue

To put the mantel of your protection

Around the bodies of

The young and defenseless

Continue

To take the hand of the despised

And diseased and walk proudly with them

In the high street

Some might see you and

Be encouraged to do likewise

Continue

To plant a public kiss of concern

On the cheek of the sick

And the aged and infirm

And count that as a

Natural action to be expected

Continue

To let gratitude be the pillow

Upon which you kneel to

Say your nightly prayer

And let faith be the bridge

You build to overcome evil

And welcome good

Continue

I pray God’s continued blessings and Guidance be upon all Barbadians here and abroad. Happy Independence Barbados! And may God’s Mercy be upon you, my father.

And in the end as in the beginning, all Praise is due to God.

Suleiman Bulbulia is a Justice of the Peace; Secretary of the Barbados Muslim Association; Muslim Chaplain at the U.W.I, Cave Hill Campus and Chair, Barbados Childhood Obesity Prevention Coalition. Email: suleimanbulbulia@hotmail.com.

Related posts

Motivated stakeholders critical for business efficiency

Not fooled on Israel, Palestine and peace

Here’s how to solve the Dems’ crisis

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy