Sluggy Dan says the loss of his loved one will inspire fight to steer youth away from crime

Kevin Sluggy Dan Watson is broken there’s nothing he can do to restore the life of his beloved brother. But rather than be bitter, the popular community activist says he’s determined more than ever, to ramp up his advocacy against violence and crime.

Watson and his close-knit family were left shaken on Friday around 3 in the morning when his younger brother Kemar Ronaldo Grazettes, 33, died at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, three days after he was shot near the Arsenal Playing Field, Jackson, St Michael.

“Kemar is somebody that the whole family loves, we were so proud of him. An innocent man gone, ” Watson told Barbados TODAY.

Kevin ‘Sluggy Dan’ Watson

Details surrounding the tragic shooting incident that occurred around 7:54 p.m. on Tuesday are still sketchy.

Police report that one other victim was injured.

Watson acknowledged that it all remains a mystery, suggesting that it could be a case of his sibling being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

“They were liming and everybody heard gunshots but no one knows who they were shooting at. My brother and another person got hit.  They were on the pasture but it was so dark and hard to see. Lord knows who they were aiming at.”

Watson was doubtful that his brother could have been a target given his quiet lifestyle.

“Kemar don’t get into any war with anybody, he is just a quiet fellow, we know for sure he was not in a war with anybody. It is just like the wrong place, wrong time. It is heartbreaking, but we can’t bring him back, so all we can do is to be good examples and continue to show that love that we always show as a family.”

Still, the pain of losing the former popular football player and athlete who was a ‘star’ at both primary and secondary school is a major blow.

“Coming up in school at Sharon Primary and then The Alleyne School, you know he was a sports star. At Sharon, he used to win all the races and score the most goals in football. Then he went on to The Alleyne School where he played football and ran track. He was very good at both and when he got to third form he was exceptional at football. At 14 he was scoring a lot of goals in the under-19 division and he later played first and second division for Jackson, St Michael.”

According to Watson: “The family is taking it really rough…his mom Sonia Grazette is taking it very, very hard. She was very very proud of him. My father is trying to hold firm.”

Watson says memories of the good times and the strong affection he shared with Kemar has been holding him up.

“He was always extremely proud of me, everything I do he loved it. Kemar would say I am really, really proud of you, keep doing what you do. We actually often said we loved each other, to each other, that is what have me feeling so comforted.”

In fact, their strong bond is the driving force behind Watson’s determination to help steer more youth away from crime and lawlessness.

Lamenting that they are too many hopeless young men and women because of broken homes and lack of opportunities, Watson, a trained music professional who offers free classes in voice training, songwriting, musicianship and performance and other skills across communities says: “I will show the youth another way. Violence is not the way.

“It is my hope to keep showing people the way out. Unity really is strength, supporting each other, showing care to help bring back life to the community. That is the cure for gun violence.

“I will continue to spread that good energy in the community to make sure that all of the love and support he showed me behind the scenes don’t go in vain, don’t come for naught. I can’t do it alone, but I will be doing the work. I will not stop what I am doing for the youth of Barbados, the fact that I lost my brother that gives me even more inspiration to continue being a youth advocate, to spread love and peace among all youth in Barbados,” Watson said.
(sandydeane@barbadostoday.bb)

Related posts

Police probe reported break-in at DLP headquarters

All differences aside, for now

Senators slam business facilitation frameworks

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy