#COVIDispatch – Vaccine hesitancy aplenty on “blocks”

In some close-knit communities in densely populated areas, spirited debates are taking place among residents. The hot topic? Whether or not to take the vaccine.

Barbados TODAY visited one popular liming spot, or “block”, in Black Rock, St Michael, to hear residents’ views on the matter. It was early afternoon, and several young men and women were gathered on benches adjoined to a shop in the area. Most of them revealed that they had not taken the vaccine and would only do so if it became mandatory.

Patrick Boxill, who runs the neighbourhood shop, said he was unsure about the vaccine because of “information overload”. His main issue is that there are too many choices.

“More people would feel comfortable taking a vaccine if it was just one vaccine.  But all these brand names and which ones better than which . . . what really it is that they confusing people head with?” he asked in frustration.

“It’s like buying shoes . . . the whole scenario with the different brand names; I think that’s what is challenging people,” the shop owner explained.

Boxill said that as the vaccine is not mandatory, he does not feel compelled to take the jab. However, he admitted that if he has to take it to “participate in society”, he would not have a choice, adding that persons who do not want to take it but have their “backs against the wall” will find it tough.

Another resident, who gave his name only as Rico, had contrasting views.

He was firm in his conviction that he would take the vaccine.

“I don’t deal with the vaccine. At the end of the day, I find that they trying to corner people. They want you to get the vaccine but still telling people they have a choice, which isn’t giving you a choice,” he argued.

The young man, who works in a customer-facing job, is highly suspicious of the procurement process of the vaccine and why it is available for free.

“It’s forced on you, and we is poor people . . . . Poor people don’t get nothing in large quantities unless we paying for it. So, it’s either research that they are trying to do, because they don’t know what the vaccine entails, so they trying it on poor people,” he contended.

Acknowledging that his job may be in jeopardy at some point, with some people requesting that only vaccinated workers serve them, he explained that it is unsettling to him that there are numerous brands of the vaccine and people “competing to sell vaccines which are supposed to save the world”.

Meanwhile, resident Susan Layne, who is fully vaccinated, was involved in a boisterous argument with other persons liming in the area when the Barbados TODAY team approached her. She decided to get immunized because she is usually around many people, whether working or socialising.

“They said that your symptoms won’t be as bad as someone who is not vaccinated, so I said I would take it because I suffer with pressure,” she said matter-of-factly.

Layne explained that her five daughters were also fully vaccinated. Turning her attention to the now escalating argument at the shop, she explained that she had told the other residents that the choice to take the vaccine or not, was theirs to make.

“It’s not mandatory, but it was my choice to take it and every man for himself,” she said.

Two other residents, who gave their names as Kadeem and Raekea, have not taken the vaccine.

Kadeem’s reason is that he is perfectly healthy, but he also feels there are too many vaccine choices. He told Barbados TODAY he would not want to second-guess the process if he decides to take the vaccine.

Raekea said he doesn’t want to take the vaccine because he does not trust it. But, like some others, he explained that he would take the jab if it affects his everyday activities, such as shopping.

Not too far off, Barbados TODAY encountered a young man, Kevon St Juste, who works on a construction site. He shared that he has not yet made up his mind about taking the vaccine, neither has he given it much thought.

“I hearing a lot of speculation about the vaccine, and I ain’t come to terms with whether I should take it or don’t take it. But I still keeping an open mind . . . . If there comes a time when I have to take it, so be it. As of now, I ain’t ready yet,” he said. 

This article appears in the October 8 edition of COVID Dispatch. Read the full publication here.

Related posts

Shenseea Joins Tipsy Music Festival (TMF) 2024 Day 2 Lineup

Exercise Tradewinds puts accent on regional security cooperation

Election candidate sues over ‘overdue’ election appeal

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy