CMO explains COVID-19 death rate spike

Chief Medical Officer the Most Honourable Dr Kenneth George this morning reported an increase in the number of deaths from COVID-19 in Barbados at a press conference hosted by COVID Advisor David Ellis.

Total deaths now stand at 374 as a result of testing conducted by the Coroner’s office on a number of persons who died suddenly in communities across the island. 

Below is the full text of the statement from the Chief Medical Officer:

The Ministry of Health and Wellness wishes to report that following a decision of the Coroner’s office to carry out COVID testing of persons who died suddenly in communities across Barbados, the total number of COVID-related deaths has increased. The positive results were obtained from tests carried out by the Coroner’s office on the suspicion that their sudden demise may have been attributed to COVID-19. The policy of the Coroner’s office is to rule out COVID-19 as a likely cause of death since autopsies cannot be performed on persons who are known to have died from or with COVID. 

The test results from the Coroner’s office have identified an additional 43 COVID-related deaths which have occurred within the last six months. These persons died in communities across Barbados before being tested or assessed with appropriate care. The total number of COVID related deaths, therefore as of the 28th of March stands at 374.

It must however be noted that in all cases the primary cause of death may not have been COVID, but this diagnosis was found at the time of death.

The Ministry of Health and Wellness is seeking to provide the public with the most accurate information as it relates to COVID-19 to ensure that we can make informed decisions about our health.

Related posts

‘Yuh Good’ – seven polyclinics now offer adolescent healthcare

PM Mottley highlights sports investment following CPL final

St Philip man granted $230 000 bail on drug importation charges

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy