Arguments regarding convicted killer’s sentencing delayed

Submissions on sentencing in the case of manslayer Adrian Michael Black have been adjourned until May 26.

State attorney Principal Crown Counsel Krystal Delaney and defence counsel Faith Greaves were scheduled to make their submissions in the matter on Thursday before Madam Justice Pamela Beckles, but that did not take place.

Black had been charged with the June 29, 2020 murder of 60-year-old Victor Husbands, but pleaded guilty to the lesser charge of manslaughter before the No. 5 Supreme Court.

Black, of Thompson Gap, Codrington Hill, St Michael, had told police during investigations that Husband had provoked him and he was defending himself on the day of the deadly incident.

“He tell me I is a madman, he gine beat me. He tek up my fanta, starting coming in my face [saying], ‘I gine beat ya, I gine beat ya’. He say ‘ya want to fight’ and start coming in my face and bare golf balls was coming in my face and ting. I drew my knife and started jucking him up. I didn’t mean for that but that’s how it turn out, that’s the truth.

“He mek me feel hurt. A man that I never do nothing, tell nothing, been respectful to all my life, take it upon himself to interfere with me. I defend myself in my own right,” he told police when he was interviewed about the incident.

Delaney also revealed that Black was diagnosed with bipolar disorder from the age of 17 and was an outpatient at the Psychiatric Hospital, visiting the hospital every two weeks for medication.

Related posts

Court aims to clear death by dangerous driving cases

Elderly man jailed for raping pensioner

Rape accused denies having sexual contact with girl

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy