Poetry pop-up Sunday in Golden Square

In celebration of the Season of Emancipation the Meet Me In Golden Square: Poetry Pop-Up and Spoken Word Boom is happening this Sunday free of cost.

Themed as the “Earth Day Edition” organiser and well-respected poet Winston Farrell said that the focused theme is “Earth is our home so wha we gine do bout it”.

The theme he said came about because of the global conversation amongst activists and policy makers regarding climate change and concerns of the earth being in danger.

“The theme for this month is part of a worldwide movement of poets highlighting the plight of this place we call our home.

“The world poetry movement has been putting on activities that celebrate and help its audience to understand what is happening in the world. It is an opportunity to highlight the state of the world relating to the climate crisis, the wars etc,” he said.

Farrell added that this special poetry lime pop up  came about because during the pandemic he was producing work and simply wanted an outlet to share his lyrical treasures.

“The whole idea behind this activity started with me wanting to share my poetry coming out of the COVID-19 environment and lockdowns. I wanted an opportunity to read and perform my poetry to an audience and I thought about the park – that when it opened it would be an excellent opportunity in Golden Square,” he said.

He added that similar to how Clement Payne used the opportunity to enlighten the poor and working-class by giving them information and highlighting their plight, he wanted to do the same.

“I thought it would be a good opportunity to continue that legacy – meeting people in Golden Square – sharing their poetry and enlightening and entertaining them,” he added.

Farrell said that he wants the opportunity to be not only for him to share his work but for other young spoken word artistes as well.

“We want people to come to the park and stay for the poetry session. We think poetry could be one of those instruments not only to entertain but to give them an understanding of the world around them as we seek social justice so they may have a little more respect for the earth,” he added.

The poetry pop-ups that are free to audiences are Farrell’s contribution to the arts as a means of helping poets network and getting their work to the consumers.

“We are trying to make them all special each month with individual structure and themes,” he added.

Farrell also made mention of The Talking Heroes Collection (THC) which was launched on Youtube and is a collection of eight audio poems that reflect and celebrate unsung heroes.

It features Dawning in tribute to Farrell’s grandmother, Walls which is based on a popular theatre game, another poem features the Barbados Landship and other poems are dedicated to the Rastafarian movement. (Pretty Sure Media)

Related posts

Police probe reported break-in at DLP headquarters

All differences aside, for now

Senators slam business facilitation frameworks

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy