#BTSpeakingOut – A place of comedy and conundrums

BSTU president Mary Redman

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by the author(s) do not represent the official position of Barbados TODAY.

by Paula Sealy

It was said that $14 billion in deposits sitting in commercial banks. Shortly afterwards Government was trying to encourage the diaspora to invest in Barbados. Nonsense!

Government hosted a late night or early morning press conference in the Bridgetown Port to announce the arrival of new garbage trucks for the SSA.

Today, garbage collection is a guessing game just like before the trucks reached. They want us to keep the bins inside still. . . but how long is too long?

Schools in Barbados were open for eight weeks of instruction this whole academic year before CXC classes went on leave.

People had to get on stink before the Ministry of Education listened to them about the level of preparation over the eight weeks of face-to-face school this year and the effects of all the disruptions in school since March 2020.

That is the same ministry that preaches about learning loss fuh trute trute? The real loss is the reform unit that cannot find a replacement exam for the 11+ after two years.

BUT president Rudy Lovell has a child at Blackman and Gollop.

So what does BSTU president Mary Redman know that he does not know that caused her to ring the alarm about COVID protocol failures at that school?

If teachers and the guard at the satellite location for Wilkie Cumberbatch tested positive for COVID, how did the Chief Education Officer manage to say there are no outbreaks? Truth or lie, that is the job of the Chief Health Officer?

So will the Chief Medical Officer return the favour by announcing the 11+ results at the QEH this year? But since the Deputy Chief Medical Officer declared last month that schools must be regarded as essential service he might have the honour instead.

A lot of MPs have expensive tastes in vehicles. Some regularly take morning walks too. Do they have exclusive access to paved roads and clear sidewalks in their neighbourhoods?

The average motorist prays for car parts not to fall off. The average pedestrian is forced to abandon the sidewalk, abandoned by MTW, walk along the roadway and pray not to “get lick down” when it is dry and “get splash up wid dirty water” when it rains. Are the MPs blind?

Related posts

Not fooled on Israel, Palestine and peace

Here’s how to solve the Dems’ crisis

We’re following the Pied Piper’s noisy call

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy