#BTColumn – Two Barbadian world anthems

Rihanna

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by the author(s) do not represent the official position of Barbados TODAY.

By Walter Edey

World anthems stir people up; help fuel unfulfilled dreams, and more. Anthems can spur the renewal of humanity. “Lift Me Up” and Emmerton are two potential world anthems. 

The just released Lift Me Up (a Black Panther movie credit song) is uplifting and motivational, with simple lyrics and a repetitive melody. It has a sound track studio and karaoke feel. It boldly accesses courage, conviction and hopefulness. And its lyrics place you at the foot of a sanctuary, where the tapping of feet and clapping of hands, is spontaneous. Here, in part, are some of the lyrics of a hopeful folk cry folk – a hymn of faith. 

“Lift me up… Hold me down … Keep me close … Safe and sound … Burning in a hopeless dream… Hold me when you go to sleep … Keep me in the warmth of your love when you depart… Drowning in an endless sea…Take some time and stay with me… Keep me in the strength of your arms… Keep me safe, safe and sound … Burning in a hopeless dream… We need light, we need love … in your arms… (Hold) I need love, I need love (me down) I need love. 

Lift me Up’s message comes at a moment when many people’s dreams are on hold, and battling the rough seas and winds of Covid-19, climate change, politics, recession, and war. When to surrender to the familiar, and starting afresh, is the best option. People are in need of life support.

Anthony ‘Gabby’ Carter

On the other hand, Emmerton is a composition that was released in 1977 and tells the story of city people who were disrupted and subsequently displaced by the then government of Barbados. The song is still popular today and is considered one of the greatest evergreen folk songs to come out of Barbados in the 20th century. If anyone takes the time to listen to the lyrics, they will notice the strong family and village bonds that are portrayed despite the hurt caused by displacement. The song is usually played in a minor chord, which reflects the range of emotions expressed in its lyrics. It is no coincident that Stefan Walcott’s symphonic arrangement of the song thrilled an audience in Brazil in 2019. Listen to some of the sadness, tension, mystery, and introspection the lyrics, express, in part:

“ you tell me tuh forget … dat my granmuddah was born right here so … All right I say I shall go ….yuh tell me tuh forget… it is there I want my own children to grow …. All right I say I shall go … But I hope yuh understan’ …how I feel ‘bout Emmerton… My home land my home land my home land… An uh hope yuh know it’s true… dat I will nevuh fuhgive you … Because looka looka wha yuh do… to my Emmerton ….you tell me to fuhget… dat yuh bring bull… -dozers an push-down de houses so… Alright I say I shall go … yuh tell me tuh fuhget.. dat yu uproot my people… an’ scattah dem to an ‘fro

Both songs have several things in common, they: 

Are simple, repetitive, and easy to remember.

Tell a story and describe feelings and emotions. 

Target common people and express universal truths for difficult times. 

Address struggles, and offer light at the end of the tunnel. 

Speak to shared human values and experiences. 

Belong to the family of songs like: “We Are the World,” “Imagine,” and “Let It Be.”

Lift Me UP and Emmerton complement each other. Emmerton expressly demonstrates, the power of forgiveness and surrender [alright I say I will go]. When we forgive someone, we release our anger and resentment. This sets us free from the bondage of those negative emotions, allowing us to move on with our lives. Lift Me Up addresses surrender (Hold me down, keep me close). When we surrender to a situation we cannot change, we release ourselves from the stress and frustration that comes with resisting what is. The requests: Lift me up, hold me down, keep me safe, keep me sound, are actions of freedom. The freedom to focus on what we can change. That empowers us to take action towards making positive changes in our lives.

Published forty-three years apart, Lift Me Up and Emmerton, are authored by two Barbadians both from Bridgetown areas. The larger question, which only time can answer, is this: Is the Right Excellent Rihanna Fenty, a National Hero of Barbados, about to follow the footsteps of His Excellency, The Most Honourable, Dr Anthony Carter, as an author of a world anthem? 

Walter Edey is a retired maths and science educator in Barbados and New York.

Related posts

Govt eyes blocking harmful trans fats in foods

Recruitment drive to boost air traffic control after airport shutdown  

Two dead, two others hurt in bloody Monday across St Michael

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy