First-rate acts at Reggae on the Hill

Skeng thoroughly entertained the crowd.

Weather conditions were perfect for the highly anticipated return of the Digicel Reggae on the Hill to the panoramic grounds of the Farley Hill National Park. After a four-year break, glaringly absent were the scores of cars that normally line the roadway to the venue. However, as the evening progressed, the numbers in attendance steadily increased. 

The local acts were the first on stage and Peach Bless and the Breaking Point Band entertained with their presentation. Right Side of Red, with Daniel Medford and Rhesa Garnes upfront, represented well for the Barbadian contingent. Also making appearances were David Kirton and LRG.  [caption id="attachment_390533" align="alignnone" width="650"] Lead singer of Right Side of Red Rhesa Garnes.[/caption]

The first Jamaican act on stage was Turbulence. No stranger to Reggae on the Hill, he easily pleased his fans. He opened with Vampire and continued with Notorious, Silly Girl, Miss You So Much, X-Girlfriend and even mixed in Kingly Character by his favourite artiste Garnet Silk. 

Sweet singing Christopher Martin was up next, smoothly launching into Cheater’s Prayer. His set included Take My Love, Look on My Face, Guaranteed, Mama and Let Her Go. He also performed his collab with Romain Virgo Leave People Business. He made the ladies at the front of the stage swoon when he removed his shirt to reveal his chiseled body. The temperature was elevated when he added the sweet ballads Sexual Healing by Marvin Gaye, Sam Cooke’s Bring It on Home to Me and Michael Bolton’s Soul Provider. During his set, he showed off the vocals of both his background singers before capping off his set with Big Deal. 

[caption id="attachment_390532" align="alignnone" width="650"] Turbulence was one of the artistes who thanked promoter Freddy Fill for his support throughout their career.[/caption]

Surprise addition to the cards, Skeng sent fans wild when he touched down. He even alighted from the stage to get close to his fans. Among the tracks he sang were Protocol and Likkle Miss leaving his fans craving even more when he exited. Jahshii, who previously appeared at Hennessy Artistry, gave snippets of his hit songs. While some of the performers seemed rushed, Alkaline had ample time to entertain his fans with a steady stream of big tunes. [caption id="attachment_390529" align="alignnone" width="650"] Alkaline performed an extensive set.[/caption]

Spragga Benz entertained with a series of his hits, including Dolly House, She Nuh Ready Yet, and Machine Gun Kelly. It was a flashback to the popular riddims from the nineties with Hunting on the Joy ride Riddim. He even hyped up the crowd with Beenie Man’s Old Dog.  [caption id="attachment_390530" align="alignnone" width="433"] Anthony B brought a message of peace and love.[/caption]

Anthony B was the final act of the night and exhibited boundless energy with his fancy footwork. He sang Damage, Raid the Barn, Waan Back, I Understand, Fire Pon Rome, Don Want to Be and one of his newer releases Back to Normal, which was released during COVID-19. He brought the curtain down with a cover of Foreigner’s I Want to Know What Love Is as he invited his fellow performers back to the stage.  [caption id="attachment_390531" align="alignnone" width="650"] Spragga Benz delivered hit after hit.[/caption]

Though this year’s event did not attract the massive turnout to which organizers are accustomed, the show still attracted more than five thousand people. Unfortunately, it did not translate to sales for all the vendors. Some situated away from the main stage area reported low sales, with one stating that she was unsure she would breakeven. Despite not getting the anticipated returns, the first-time vendors at the event are still willing to return. (STT)  ]]>

Related posts

Residents urged to ‘have a plan in place’ ahead of hurricane season

‘Rich cultural heritage’ on display at Barbados Celtic Festival Street Parade

ICE nabs Dominican Republic national convicted of drug trafficking crimes

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy