Show of Bajan Pride

Shadia Marshall and Faith Callender performed a duet.

Sunday Grooves – an Afternoon Delight at Hunterspring in Brereton, St Philip, continues to be a platform for producer Shadia Marshall’s display of her penchant for creating musical mastery. Having received rave reviews for previous editions, Reggae Divas and The Blockbuster Soundtrack, Bajan Pride was on show in this latest instalment.

Patriotism was high with artists choosing their favourite songs. Though soca is not Ayana John’s primary genre, her dynamic performance style emphasised the depth of the seasoned vocalist. Paying homage to some of the local ladies of entertainment John delivered a double shot of Natalee Burke with Weakness for Sweetness and Sun Til Sun. Her rendition of Imani’s Bacchanal Road highlighted her sweet vocals.

Any Bajan musical tribute would be incomplete without tracks from the Caribbean Queen of Soca Alison Hinds. John encouraged the audience to sing along to classics like Iron Bazodee and Togetherness. In paying tribute to the late Richard Stoute and his remarkable impact on the island’s entertainment scene, she honoured his legacy by singing the iconic Jackie Opel’s Higher and Higher.

Another featured artiste was Faith Callender. She and Marshall melded tones as they harmonised on Carlyn and James Leacock’s award-winning Musical Matrimony. Accustomed to seeing Callender in the party mode it was refreshing to see her take on another style. Her renditions of John King’s How Many More, Sheryl Hackett’s Beautiful and Unspoilt and Gabby‘s Emmerton were well-received. The soca artiste then delivered a medley of Edwin Yearwood’s hits before moving into her own material. She was drenched in sweat by the time she had completed Pop Kite and Honestly.

The next segment celebrated global phenomenon Rihanna, with Ayana John singing We Found Love followed by Marshall’s rendition of the record-breaking Umbrella. They teamed up with Callender for a rendition of Diamonds.

Marshall’s solo performance featured a touch of spouge with Stand by Love and Have a Thing About You. The set included a nostalgic throwback to The Clock made popular by Carlyn Leacock and her Hello There Baby. She switched up the tempo with the groovy Electric Avenue by Eddy Grant. Not wanting to leave out a favourite of many, she delivered an impromptu rendition of the Shirley Stewart ballad Walk Away from Love which had members of the audience swaying in their seats.

The final act of the evening was veteran performer Adrian Clarke, a boss when it comes to extempo. To show off his prowess, he allowed patrons to feed him some topics, responding in quick time with witty lyrics.

Clarke’s set included regional favourites like Sweet Soca Man from Baron and Black Stalin’s Black Man Feeling to Party. His offerings featured his own compositions Nice Time and Soca You. He even added in Anansi and the Big Bad Ram, his second-place finisher in this year’s Pic-o-de-Crop finals, as he ended the evening on a high note.
(STT)

Related posts

Residents urged to ‘have a plan in place’ ahead of hurricane season

‘Rich cultural heritage’ on display at Barbados Celtic Festival Street Parade

Age no barrier: Senior athletes shine at national games

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy