Drug convict gets second chance

A 22-year-old self-employed man was afforded the opportunity to keep his record clean after he confessed to three drug charges before Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes.

Shakeem Antonio Taitt, of Odessa Mcclean Drive, My Lord’s Hill, St Michael, appeared in the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court accused of possession, trafficking and intent to supply 230 grammes of cannabis on April 25.

Court prosecutor Randolph Boyce outlined that around 1 a.m., police were on duty in Jemmotts Lane, St Michael when they observed a car with a lone occupant. They approached the vehicle and caught a strong scent of marijuana coming from the vehicle. The officers told Taitt of their suspicion that he had the controlled substance and he pointed them to a bag, giving them permission to search it. They found 13 clear transparent Ziplock bags and four clear plastic bags with the vegetable matter, with an estimated street value of $1 150.

Taitt said, “Officer, that is just a lil weed. You can’t be locking me up for that doh.”

The youth told the court that he did not have any intention to supply the drug but intended to keep it for his own personal use.

“I have a problem with marijuana. I have a slight addiction to it, if I being honest,” he said.

Chief Magistrate Weekes urged Taitt’s father, who was present in the court, to help his son get the necessary treatment to curb the habit.

Tatt was reprimanded and discharged on the possession and intent to supply charges and placed on a six-month bond to keep the peace.

“If it is breached, you will have to pay $1 000 forthwith, with the alternative being 60 days in prison. I am giving you a chance because you were honest about the problem, but you cannot break that addiction without assistance. I hope you get it,” Weekes told the young man.

Related posts

Update: CXC Investigating Concerns Around Distribution of CSEC Principles of Accounts Paper 02 at Specific Centres

Unmasking Rogue Dental Practitioners: Protecting Yourself from Unregistered Providers

‘More men seeking cancer tests’

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy