Carnival at Bridgetown Market sparks debate over family-friendly tradition

Parade passing through Bridgetown Market. (Photo credit: Lauryn Escamilla / Barbados TODAY)

A Kadooment-style parade rolled through Bridgetown Market on Sunday, sparking debate on whether it brought welcome excitement or should remain a family-oriented event focused on its traditional arts, crafts and cultural displays.

Bridgetown Market, one of the oldest signature events on the Crop Over calendar, has long been regarded as a family-friendly space showcasing artisans, food vendors, entertainment and cultural exhibitions. This year, the passage of masquerade bands through the market on Sunday generated responses both online and on the road over whether the addition added to the experience or changed its character.

For longtime Crop Over supporter Paul Yearwood, the inclusion of the Kadooment bands made the experience even better.

Paul Yearwood. (Photo credit: Lauryn Escamilla / Barbados TODAY)

“I see nothing wrong with it,” he said, dismissing concerns that the parade was inappropriate for the venue.

When asked whether the bands should become a regular feature of Bridgetown Market, Yearwood was emphatic.

“The bands passing through Bridgetown Market makes it more excited for me. It get more coverage… Ain’t no problem with the bands passing through. It just make it more spectacular for me and for the people.”

He added that the vibrant costumes also attracted spectators and encouraged spending.

“Imagine bands coming through with all the sexy girls. People are going to watch the girls, spend money, you know.”

Renée Cumberbatch, however, was less enthusiastic about extending the festivities.

Although she acknowledged enjoying Crop Over celebrations, she said she preferred keeping Bridgetown Market as it has traditionally been.

“Keep it how it was… Keep it how it was fuh truth.”

Cumberbatch suggested there was no need to add another day of revelry to the festival.

“The one day is very good,” she said.

Anette McDonald also opposed the inclusion of the parade, saying she was expecting the traditional Bridgetown Market atmosphere that made it popular with families over the years.

Anette McDonald. (Photo credit: Lauryn Escamilla / Barbados TODAY)

“I was just expecting them to come through, walk through, do the craft, have a good exhibition… not people dancing up and performing like that,” she said.

While she was not against entertainment altogether, McDonald believed there were more suitable ways to incorporate it.

“If it was just on a side at a stage, it would be more appropriate.”

She also rejected the idea of making the parade an annual feature.

“No, they should not.”

Instead, she called for a return to “our usual traditional Bridgetown Market” format.

She added that performances could still be accommodated without changing the character of the market.

“They can do that on a side, like a little show on the side, but not parading through the street…I like it that way.”

The parade was formed from a collaboration of Aura Experience along with Blue Box Cart and Monde Mas as they journeyed down the Mighty Grynner Highway. Organisers said the parade was created to give revellers another day for jumping.

(LE)

Related posts

Farm data gap ‘hampering’ food production drive

Grand Kadooment earns high praise, though some say culture took back seat

Gun offender fined $30K after ‘Botanical Gardens’ claim rejected

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy