Court Local News Man found with cannabis placed on bond Jenique BelgravePublished: 18/08/2026 Updated: 17/08/2026010 views Roshawne Romario Gibbs has been placed on a nine-month bond after admitting to intending to sell cannabis he said he found after men fled a party when police arrived. The 23-year-old vendor, of no fixed address, pleaded guilty before the No. 1 District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court to possession, trafficking and intent to supply 53.62 grammes of cannabis on August 16. The court heard that police were at Savvy on the Bay on Sunday when they became aware of a strong aroma of marijuana coming from the area where the accused was sitting. He was approached and consented to a search, during which a black plastic bag containing the vegetable matter was found in his groin. Gibbs told police he had found the drugs, which had an estimated street value of $268.10, on the beach. Addressing the court, he said that he had gone to a party and was liming with some men when police arrived. Gibbs said: “So when police came, you know that men smoking the herb gine run and leff it. I now come home, and I does do little side hustles so I am a street man and I see the herb, and I know what that could get me with money. So I take it up and say since I ain’t got nothing going on really, I gine sell it. As I get to Savvy [on the Bay], I ain’t even last, ‘cause I say I gine and get a taco and the police hold me and ask me if I holding anything and I told them ‘yes’ and I give them. “I know I wrong.” “You just came home, and you should be keeping yourself out of trouble,” acting Chief Magistrate Douglas Frederick said. For his intent to supply, Gibbs was placed on a nine-month bond to keep the peace, failing which he will have to pay a $1 000 fine immediately or be jailed for two months. He was convicted, reprimanded and discharged on the other two offences. (JB)