Self-confessed child molester to be sentenced Thursday

A gardener told police on his arrest, just over two years ago, that the father of a five-year-old girl “beat me up fuh she” on finding out that he had touched the child in a sexual manner.

Oswald Dacosta Forde, of Lodge Road, Christ Church, pleaded guilty to committing an act of serious indecency towards the child on January 12, 2018.

Crown Counsel Danielle Mottley told the Supreme Court No. 5 that the girl knew Forde as he was in a habit of doing chores around the yard for her grandmother. On that day she was standing at her home on the steps when he signalled for her to come to him. She did not comply and as a result he held her by her foot and pulled her causing her to fall down the step. He then pulled the child by the hand, took her to the back of the house and then proceeded to touch the child inappropriately and kiss her.

Immediately following the ordeal, the little girl informed her grandmother about what had happened who then told the child’s parents.

Forde was arrested but declined his right to an attorney and said: “I did it. I don’t know why, let me apologize. I sorry for troubling [her]. I don’t know what get in my head to do that to she but I real sorry. She father beat me for she.”

Forde, who was 58 years old at the time, also admitted that he knew the child was about four or five years old.

“I don’t know why I do that but it was a big mistake . . . (she) father beat me up and I don’t want to go back there,” he told police when questioned.

In a brief address before Supreme Court No. 5 on Monday the molester again apologized.

He said: “I am sorry for what I have done. I would never do it again.”

Forde is set to know his fate when he reappears before Justice Pamela Beckles on Thursday.

Related posts

Gunman to know his fate in a week

Best to spend 22 more years behind bars for killing teen

Judge wants quicker turnaround for ‘fast track’ cases

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy