Known thief admits to a string of burglaries occurring over the last year

A 49-year-old man who went on a burglary spree for over a year has been caught and remanded until April 5 pending sentence.

Kevin Anderson Straker, of Parish Land, Chris Church, appeared before Magistrate Elwood Watts on Tuesday and pleaded guilty to over a dozen charges dating back from February 2021 until this month when he was finally caught.

Straker’s spree began between February 23 and 24, 2021 when he entered the house of Gloria Greenidge as a trespasser with intent to steal and two months later – between April 28 and 29, 2021 – he entered the house of Cherisse Greene and stole two extension cords worth $240 belonging to Christopher Lorde as well as two fixtures worth $40, a bottle of glue worth $15; a box of screws and $40 belonging to Greene.

He was also accused of entering the house of Adrian De Vires and M&N Enterprise Inc as a trespasser between April 30 and June 15, 2021  with intent to steal while between July 21 and August 28 he stole $4.30 belonging to Reginald Collins and entered the house of Rodney Pilgrim making away with two bottles of wine worth $60, and $40 in cash.

Four other persons became his victims that year between October 28 and December 26. Angela Agard lost $350 when he burglarized her house; Robin and Imani Gaskin lost a total of $600 in items including cash, a brassiere, a bag, a pair of pants and a book while businesses Crumbz Bakery and Marcey’s Bar lost money and items totaling $40 and $836.74 respectively.

When the New Year began Marcey’s Bar again suffered a loss when Straker burglarized the establishment between January 4 and 5, 2022 stealing a cash register worth $589 and $25 cash belonging to Bruce Bynoe.

On February 17 the known crook stole a $10 cup from Janelle Chase-Mayers’ vehicle and was found fast asleep in the seat of the vehicle where he had committed the crime.

Days later between March 18 and 21 he stole a cellular phone worth $300; two boxes of cigarettes worth $24 and eight packs of wrappers worth $30 belonging to Darren Parris. He also burglarized the home of Pemberton Kirton of a $50 radio, a $75 measuring tape and $30.25in cash.

According to the facts read by Sergeant Victoria Taitt, Straker’s crime spree came to an end on March 21 when police stopped him while riding a bicycle.

However, when police caught up with him, he didn’t go quietly. He struggled but was detained and informed about a report of burglary. During the encounter he assaulted PC Anderson White as well as PC Jhiovinne McCollin and assaulted and resisted PC Jared Headley with intent to prevent his arrest.

He struck PC Headley on the shoulder saying “let me to f**k go and also struck the officers on their face. At the Oistins Police Station he was told of the offences against the police and replied: “I was high as c**t officer I barely remember wha happen.”

He was also searched and a greaseproof wrapping containing a white rock, suspected to be cocaine, weighing 0.5 kilogrammes with a street value of $25 was found. When asked to account he replied: “Yea that is mine and I high a ras**le.

Related posts

Bar urges changes to cybercrime bill, warning of court challenges

Court Call

Lawsuits against Gov’t rise due to case backlog

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Privacy Policy