Speaking Out #BTSpeakingOut – Our misplaced priorities by Barbados Today Traffic 05/11/2021 written by Barbados Today Traffic 05/11/2021 4 min read A+A- Reset Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappEmail 180 The views and opinions expressed by the author(s) do not represent the official position of Barbados TODAY. by K Anson Sobers BSc. FCCA, CPA, CGA Within recent weeks announcements of Members of Parliament “MPs” retiring after one term as a Government MP have become a talking point among the Opposition with efforts made to link it to the Prime Minister’s leadership. This is indeed a clear indication of these parties grabbing at any perceived issue and creating a spectacle, in instances where there are non-issues. Ironically, when an MP retires after serving two terms, it is said “he got his pension now so he good”; when a politician doesn’t retire it is said “‘them ent tired run? wha more them cud do?” and now we have a precedent with Government MPs voluntarily leaving after one term, it is regarded as suspicious. Since assuming office in 2018 the Government has been saddled with multiple crises happening simultaneously, unlike any other government in our lifetime. In addition to being in a climate emergency, there are the social, medical and economic issues associated with COVID, the La Soufriere volcano ash fall, a freak storm, Hurricane Elsa and other natural and man-made disasters. You Might Be Interested In Enlightened rastafari Twistory again! Time is running out As the old people would say, “One-one blow kill cow”; it is regrettable that only in instances where an individual succumbs to the pressures of holding political office that we as a society have mature conversations about the need for persons in high pressure jobs to be afforded time to rejuvenate. The reality is that structure and functions of the offices of MP and Minister have changed drastically since the 1970s and 1980s, the demands are greater, the challenges are plenty and the time to execute one’s duties is reduced. MPs do not have a ticket to accomplishing everything they want for their constituents or country as unforeseen difficulties may exceed their capacity and capabilities as they balance constituency representation and a Ministerial portfolio. A Government has ideas and initiatives, the public servants and technocrats execute and implement. What is missing from the public discourse is a recognition of the human element associated with the titles of “MP” and “Minister”. Therefore, if an MP or Minister decides based on his or her own assessment on what is best for them and their family, that it is time to go, we should exercise the political maturity expected of a country celebrating 55 years of nationhood and thank the individual for his or her service to the country even in the most trying of circumstances. Why are we engaging in a level of discourse that suggests that the only place an individual could be of service to his or her country is by having a seat in the parliament? The reality is that the only thing constant in life is change and the quicker we learn to live by this, the better for us. At some point in time, we all started a journey and then abandoned it as “reality didn’t align with perception”, “we bit off more than we could chew”, “felt like a square peg in a roun’ hole” or “just because we could”. An individual makes a choice to enter politics and is therefore free to make the decision to leave politics. As Bob Marley once stated in his popular song ‘Zimbabwe’, “…every man got a right to decide his own destiny…”. As such, a decision of this nature should be respected since, alternatively, an individual could seek re-election and deliver no representation. Entering politics should have an exit strategy and term limits to allow for succession planning, we do not need career politicians, what we need are competent and skilled critical thinkers putting and maintaining Barbados on a stable path of economic growth, prosperity and social well-being. Opposition and critics must do a better job at bringing issues to the fore and addressing them not the fluff. I have watched for three and half years and the Opposition has been unable to successfully identify and address the issues at hand. Critics are criticising because they can while providing no constructive feedback, helpful alternatives or hope when there is doubt. Like a child throwing a tantrum they “kick and scream” hoping they will have their way. As a people we are better than this and must do better if we are to grow and develop. Barbados Today Traffic You may also like #SpeakingOut – Preserve the Holetown Festival 18/02/2025 #BTSpeakingOut – Barbados makes its mark 08/12/2024 The people have spoken 12/11/2024