Some members of the clergy believe that Barbados should approach the legalisation of marijuana for medical purposes with a greater degree of caution.
Head of Mount Zion Missions, Reverend Dr. Lucille Baird, condemned what she called the sudden introduction of medical marijuana legislation as Barbadians were grappling with economic challenges. She accused the relevant authorities of “slipping it under the radar” while Barbadians were otherwise distracted.
“While Barbadians were under the aneathesia of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme, and anxious about the layoffs and the other issues associated with that, they got injected with legalised medical marijuana.
“What is worse is that this measure was introduced without any national referendum, town hall meetings or any other public discussion, and it can potentially cause long-term devastating effects on this nation, as other much bigger countries have experienced since making similar moves,” she charged.
Baird also expressed concern about policing the doctors who will prescribe medical marijuana, noting that there was potential for abuse in the same way that medical practitioners were called out several years ago for issuing sick leave certificates for people who were not necessarily ill, creating a drain on the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) as a result.
President of the East Caribbean Conference of Seventh Day Adventists, Pastor R. Danforth Francis, admitted that “not all the facts are available” regarding the effectiveness of medical marijuana. He noted that the health message was a major element of his denomination and the Seventh Day Adventist church did not support the use of any drugs, legal or otherwise, that could damage people’s health.
He stated while “medical marijuana” implied the drug would be used in a controlled manner, “there are several strains of marijuana, some of which are more harmful than others, so if it is being prescribed, medical professionals will have to make sure they get it right. I know that sometimes people are given concoctions of drugs to relieve pain, but I do not think this is the route we should take.”
Monsignor Vincent Blackett of the Roman Catholic Church agreed with Pastor Francis that the facts about medical marijuana were unknown, and admitted he was totally against the legalisation of any mind-altering substance. “Are the people advocating for the legalisation of medical marijuana really suffering from illnesses where the drug has been proven as an effective treatment, or is it just a gateway to full legalisation of it for recreational purposes as well?” he asked.
In his view, there were “more questions than answers” on the issue, and “Just because other countries are doing it, that does not mean we should follow them, especially since we have no proof as to how effective it is in alleviating any health problems.”
Did we ever have a national referendum when a fda approved drug is used? Big Pharmaceutical Companies going to be the dealer, and all the nay sayers going to love getting high legally.
What’s silly is that some of these so called clergy not even academically trained in the area…but want to pontificate on matters non theological. Let me hear a real balanced position from people in the field. Stick to collecting your “seed offerings”.
A lot of the people that writing and talking about weed ain’t no what they talking.
There maybe a lesson here maybe the church should invest in regional development maybe that would change public perception of their interest and relevance. Create some industrial jobs help the people get work. Speak to their spiritual needs but be sensitive to their physical needs aka jobs, food, housing.
Has Reverend Dr. Lucille Baird been smoking weed?
Here we go again, guess some idiots needs a platform. Hibernation has finally ended for some, after a 10 stretch.
Clearly reading medical literature on the topic one wishes to opine on, isn’t a prerequisite for speaking about said topic in a large public forum.
Abysmal.
I tell wunna that ain’t gonna apply to 98.9% of the bajan population, caw de average bajan ain’t going for no marijuana license an even they do 9 out of 10 ain’t getting none, only de ones that can afford de fancy doctors , shoot a couple more dollars their way an get dem write a prescription for them
Just asking a question of my own opinions but are some of the church leaders using or dealing this thing
Steupse…
So the spirit of the beast which once slept and was quieted for 0ver 10 years has awaken once again.. this time through those of which have been gagged for the same amount of time as the beast itself..
We have not heard from none of the voices we are now hearing from. Imagine the many lives that have been lost in relation to Guns, Drugs, Violence and Crime and Lawlessness and not a word but now were hear about the negative impact such can have on our society.. though right and I agree sometomes I wonder why the Church would sell their birthrite for a seat at “a” table and be gagged..
I agree with medical marijuana efforts by the government and others in Barbados. We are being hoodwinked by Canada and the United States in that business. When it comes to legalizing the smoking of pot though, that can be controlled through laws from Parliament. We can observe the laws in Canada where cannabis use is allowed and regulated. Barbadians already smoke pot in the open, despite it being illegal here. It is time that we take the bold steps forward. Casino gambling soon has to be added to our tourism package also. We are being left behind. Barbados is a brand yearning for enhancements.
This is not “sudden”! Discussions wid de Bajan/Canadian was in the works a long time befo, but wunna see, I could not put it in de manifesto, ’cause wunna won’ta vote fuh muh! so I now sittin bak, an letting wunna have wunna say;’ cause wunna know, wunna dun kno, um is a dun deal. watch muh
Why you don’t try getting back love back in the churches, because there is nun, and tell the peoples that the money that they put in the offering on sunday cannot buy a seat in heaven, the seats are not for sale.
Medical marijuana has been in use for a long time in the health industry. However, I do not agree with this growing thing. If it is going to be used for making rope and such like(that is the good side) that can work. But the walking zoombies I can do without as studies have shown that long term use for medical purposes can still be detrimental to one’s health.
@Carl Harper..”Has Reverend Dr. Lucille Baird been smoking weed?”…hahahaha good one..was just about to come on board with a similar comment.
People got to stop letting these church people run their mouth about things they know nothing about. The church has consistently proved that it is misguided, lacks understanding and is generally incompetent leading on any and every issue. She states marijuana ” can potentially cause long-term devastating effects on this nation, as other much bigger countries have experienced since making similar moves,”. Why did the media not check her on that statement. None of the bigger nations have had devastating effects from legalization. In fact, in a majority of them crime has gone down land the economy flourished. should have asked her which countries she talking about, make believe land? LOl. I live in Toronto now, weed is legal, no bad side effects from that. As for they being no studies on the long term effects of weed, there have been literally hundreds of thousands of studies done on the long term and health benefits of marijuana. Do better Barbados today more intelligent analysis instead of just printing the ramblings of clergy on subjects they know absolutely nothing about.
Lmaooo… hold up … hold hell up ..
Alcohol legal and I never hear church pastor complain… cigarettes legal also and again not a word …
But I plant that was place on earth by God for medical help church against…
Hmmmmm come on ppl … you rather give ppl man made meds than natural…
And it get better daily …
church does still exist??
I do not support the use of Marijiana in any form or fashion.
Stfu
I know that churches can afford televisions and you all have cable so quick message to all these religious: Please watch Weed, Weed 2 and Weed 3 on CNN with Sanjay Gupta. It is repeated very often so if you keep your eyes on the schedule you will see it. Your ignorance of the facts/research does not imply that no research/facts are available. Until then take several seats and be very quiet.
Having witnessed how the use of marijuana affects young people, and long term users mentally; I believe it is the cause of so many murders in Barbados . Marijuana has detrimental affects to the psychological well-being of some users, turning them into Schizophrenics and Psychopaths. With the continued use of Marijuana and these disorders remaining untreated, users will commit the most serious crimes owing to Paranoia, and a lack of self control. Say no to the legalisation of this mind damaging drug of the unknown.
There are so many best practices that have been around for decades. Canada is a very conservative country and if they just legalized it, there must be a lot of merit in doing so. Barbadians need not guided by fear, but by facts and move ahead. A lot of the legislation in Barbados has not been changed for 100 years. The world is moving ahead quickly; moving too slow and staying in a comfort can lead to its stagnation and ruin. Move forward with competence and courage!!
Here we go. More square peg in round hole. What this Beard woman mean, is that she needs Astra veneca, glaxo Smith kline, mercks, advaxis, novartis etc to take charge and capitalise. This is how that slave mind operates.
Now ALL drugs have side effects. The current drugs for pressure, cancer, heart dirase etc all treat one thing and damage another area. The guys who smoke weed go overboard. If it should be a cigaret they smoke a cigar size. Probable depressed anyway. The thing is to get the correct portion size. Etc. Same thing for the soursop etc. The rules set out by those drug companies also means that they have to take the lead om this sort of thing
anyway, aka lock down.
Notice how the doctor will prescribe one pill to deal with the damage caused by the first pill, till u r taking multiple pills.
Now somebody is starting to make sense of this issue. Marijuana has been around for a long time, and up to this point there is no clear scientific evidence that it helps any of the myriad (and counting) complaints that it’s suppose to help. Let’s face it, these marijuana adherents and apologists just want to get high. Admit it.
This medical marijuana push is just a ruse to get to legalized use in short order. Forget the “tourist” benefits; forget the economic gains that are supposed to result from exporting this curse; these are all cheap backdoor arguments to legalize pot.
Barely is whisper is heard about the harmful effects of smoking pot such as behavioral problems, physical and psychological dependency and memory loss (short and long term) to name just a few.
Is this the country we want for our progeny? If you are truly honest with yourselves, I would think not.
@Joy Walrond – abortion legal and bul1i** soon to be legal too.
U C this is Y no one pays these church people any attention and beat them down when they start to talk. Not one chapter and verse did she mention from the holy bible as it relating to her claims or stance. U got to love these people. The effects of medical marijuana is uncertain , this is true and that is why u do research and clinical studies etc.