Barbados records another murder in a matter of days after the man who was shot multiple times while sitting in his vehicle earlier tonight died at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH).
Police spokesman Station Sergeant Michael Blackman said the incident occurred around 6:10p.m. on Wednesday January 23.
“Corey Parris, of Shop Hill, St Thomas was driving along Baxters Road, in the direction of The City, when gunshots rang out [while he was in] the area of Jordan’s Supermarket.
“The victim slumped over [and] two males who were in the area drove [him] to the QEH in the said vehicle he was driving . . . where he succumbed to his injuries,” Station Sergeant Blackman reported.
The officer is asking anyone with information that can assist with their investigation to contact Police Emergency at 211, Crime Stoppers at 1 800 8477 or any police station.
Read our ePaper. Fast. Factual. Free.
My condolences to his family,so much killing going on in Barbados sad
I thank those 2 good samaritans for their efforts to save this mans life! RIP
#rip yabba
Is this some kind of record we trying to get in Barbados? What de hell is going on?
We about 1 murder per day. Police and Government better take this seriously or it will certainly become an election issue after the economic impact is felt.
R.I.P CUZ
Only If BLP had taken Crime and Violence serious instead of hiring that big belly man and Ugly woman to make Ads making Mock Sport at Crime and Violence
The big ups need to take their hands off the police and allow them to do their work to remove the crime bosses. The police know who they are
Get the Gallows swinging again! Amnesty is no determent, if it meant to be, its not working because these fellas int `fraid it.
Get a grip Authorities. You, with the relevant powers, backing of the Law, authority, mechanism and ultimately, accountability to all Barbadians, both at home and abroad.
Too much is at stake.
Hence, ‘the greatest danger, is to do nothing’.
RIP Corey.
@T. Seems!!! You said:-Get the Gallows swinging again! Amnesty is no determent, if it meant to be, its not working because these fellas int `fraid it.
NO!!! these fellas ent afraid, but Barbados is, we had to go on our knees, begging so many International Institutions to lend us Money, that now we can,t do anything without asking them, for fear of them NOT lending us anymore.
EWB was a Law Student with Lee Quan yew, and they became close friends, after they Graduated, to the extent that Yew”s Country Singapore was used as an EXAMPLE in EWB”s FAMOUS “MIRROR IMAGE SPEECH” of 13 May 1986.
So!!!! we Sent a Delegation of about 10 persons to search for Used Garbage Trucks, why can’t we sen a Delegation of Two-Three to Singapore to see HOW and WHY they have become so SUCCESSFUL in NOT having Gun Crime in their Society, and PLEASE!!!!!!! None of this DIFFERENT CULTURE BS, Crime is Crime regardless of Culture, and is dealt with similarly in ALL Cultures.
AS for these International Institutions, like Amnesty International, i would make them PERSONNA NON GRATA in Barbados, they only say what NOT to do, they RARELY has any Suggestion on what TO DO. and they NEVER go to China, Saudi Arabia, Syria, The United States of America, et al with their ANTI Punishment BS. I wonder WHY???
Can you really imagine “BARBADOS” not even able to Sentence Murderers to Hang, because some Organisation has said that Barbados MUST Remove HANGING as a MANDATORY Sentence from OUR Laws, so!!! what did “INDEPENDENCE” bring us, did it NOT bring us freedom to Run our Country as we feel it should be run ???
A good start to ridding our Island of this scourge of GUN CRIME, and Making Barbados “BEAUTIFUL” again, would be to do like Trinidad & Tobago, and remove our Signatures from that TREATY that we BLINDLY Signed with The Inter-American Court of Human Rights”IAHRC”in San Jose Costa Rica.we can , T&T Ratified and Recognised the Court’s Jurisdiction in 1991, and after realising that they now could NOT Hang any Convicted Murderers, they Withdrew they Signature to the Treaty in 1999. Venezeula did likewise in 2013, we SHOULD Start our War on Crime in a similar Way by removing our Signature from that Document.
The United States is in our Region,and they Hang or Inject as many Criminals as they can, when last did Amnesty visit them???
Amnesty International only pick the fruits that they can reach.
A great Start to ridding Barbados of MURDERERS, would be to
abstain from have any of these Organisations tell you how to run your Country.and to RESTART Hanging ALL those Convicted of PRE Meditated Murder, or The Murder of ANY Peace Officer.IF/WHEN proven BEYOND Reasonable doubt.