Democratic Labour Party president Verla De Peiza has thrown their party’s full support behind Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s plans to increase the number of criminal courts and introduce a commercial law court.
In welcoming the news, which was announced by Mottley in Parliament this morning, De Peiza, a lawyer, noted that this was exactly the grease needed for the grinding wheels of justice, especially in the High Court
The DLP leader said: “At present there are two courts only dealing with criminal matters and after the preliminary inquiries stage was abandoned it meant that there was an immediate backlog at the high court. So, my position is that any number of new courts is great.”
She argued that the Supreme Court at White Park Road has been underused for a long time and that space is readily available for new courts to be established to ease the backlog.
“I have always held the view that the Supreme Court building, as it was designed, is more of a mall and less of a court because there is a lot of space that can be converted into good use. So hopefully that will be happening. There are four courts downstairs and only two work at any given time because there are only two judges on the criminal circuit. So, if we are getting more courts that is great and I am confident that it will be welcomed by the criminal bar,” she said.
But the former senator pointed out that with new courts should come not only additional judges but extra support staff. She noted that along with carving out physical space, Government needed to ensure that the new courts are properly staffed, a scenario she now sees as ironic given the recent decision to retrench court clerks.
“If you are going to announce that there will be more courts then I assume and expect that all of these things have already been factored in. So, it is not just about judges but also prosecutors and court staff. We just sent home a number of court clerks so Government may just have to hire them back. There are many things which must flow from this decision but once they are all sorted it will be a welcomed addition,” she said.
Mottley revealed that the Attorney General is to seek funds for the establishment of more criminal courts and a commercial court in the Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure, due to come before Parliament next week.
Read our ePaper. Fast. Factual. Free.
PIC..STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH
thank you Barbados today for this fine looking pic of the DLP’s leader.
No no no guh back pon your side of d net .Dont come pon dis side of d court please…guh looonnnngg!!!!!
Don’t be sidetrack by picture verla don’t worry bout nothing so . Now how long will it take to put theses judges in place ? A small claims court needed. Public council needs teeth .lots of simple matters that can be handle civilly are back lodging the court’s system.
“Democratic Labour Party president Verla De Peiza has thrown their party’s full support behind Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s plans….”
After reading the above, this writer had to look outside to see if the Lord was coming back for His world. Verla supporting anything that PM Mottley doing is just shocking and unbelievable so I had to read further. It was then, right there in the latter paragraphs, it was revealed that the DLP leader was not truly sincere with her “support”.
She proceeded to not only take political jabs at the Administration and the Supreme Court building, but cleverly tried to cover up her inept DLP government grinding the wheels of justice almost to a halt from 2008 to 2018,
Looking forward to former AG Adriel Brathwaite weighing in with his “two cents” on this development, since it appears that the return of retired COP Darwin Dottin has rattled him and brought him out from hiding. Since then he has been mouthing off on the return of Dottin and supporting Caswell Franklyn’s call transferring soldiers into the Police Force.
But cuddear, Verla. Yuh mean wunna had 10 years and 90 days in Office and refused to add a few more courts and appoint new judges to speed up the administration of justice. Yuh mean wunna didn’t have the foresight to convert the excess space inside the Supreme Court to productive use.
A welcomed addition would have been a commercial and small claims court, in particular, to deal with matters that can be arbitrated before a judge or magistrate, without having to acquire an attorney. But we knew how the system is designed in Barbados to line the pockets of lawyers for every legal requirement.
Anyway, Verla, this Administration will clean up the mess left behind by your DLP government and take the criticism for making the tough decisions for the good of country. But one must ask, however, wha wunna do wid de $15 billion (debt) because there is absolutely nutten to show for it?
A supportive tone is a step in the right direction. Cause ain’t nobody wanna hear yall, so it may work in your favour. Hopefully yall can climb back to a responsible opposition.
The other mafia in town. Will not take care of the underlying problems. Have to root them out.
Hey BT. We understand not to worry, there are just somethings that isn’t in your control but good try with the updated pic.
Some day she will or you all will get it right……..
NONSENSE.
There is nothing to support here.
What the hell is she saying???
The only way we can handle unrest in the society is through creating more Courts??? This is total rubbish. Look at the underlying cause of unrest. Come up with solutions to improve the lot of BLACK BARBADIANS. Move BLACK BARBADIANS from the bottom of the social and financial ladder. Start treating them like HUMAN BEINGS not just the WHITE BAJANS and INDIAN MUSLIMS here in Barbados.
How about a strategy of positive initiatives by BLACK BARBADIAN POLITICIANS to empty DODDS prison??? There are countries in Europe emptying their prisons because the Govts. are DOING the right things for the people of the countries. Why cant BLACK BARBADIANS POLITICIANS DO THE SAME.
Not seek a way to lock up more BLACK BARBADIANS. Prove TO people who say that THE $700 million DODDS prison was constructed to lock up only BLACK BARBADIANS WRONG.
When is BLACK BARBADIAN POLITICIANS GOING TO DO SOMETHING POSITIVE for BLACK BARBADIANS and not only WHITE BAJANS and INDIAN MUSLIMS???
Their own race.
Liz Thompson is obsessed with Verla DePeiza, who is straight up. Liz wobbles all over the place, especially since she assumed the name Carl Harper on this blog. I question why would a woman want to be a man, when she could just be herself. That seems confusing to me, and this is why I address Carl Harper as “it” because I am not sure who or what I am dealing with here. A confused former crooked politician.
Dont BLACK BARBADIAN POLITICIANS care anything about BLACK BARBADIANS here in Barbados at all???
Must WHITE BAJANS and INDIAN MUSLIMS rule over BLACK BARBADIANS in Barbados forever???
When is slavery going to come to an end in Barbados???
carl harper u are obsessed…stop ur postering..not everyone is like u and opposses everything…u r most immature
JOHNNY CROW: You bad then.
On another note: Every time Verla says anything, it always make a great deal of sense. She is bright, talented and a beautiful individual with all of the necessary certification that was required to practise law in this jurisdiction.
@ Tennyson Drakes, lol i see what you did there.
Can anybody tell me if her Registration check (cheque) bounce this year?
Talk yuh talk Carl. They run from you like cockroach from light.
Carson forget the “black ting” here. People talking sense and you wid your black and white ting. We dun gone technicolor a long, long, long time ago in case nuhbody en tell yuh , Professor of Victimology.
Well said CARL HARPER…I too was SHOCKED…had to read it TWICE…the second time with READING GLASSES jack and it got Carson C Cadogan FUMING in addition to he belly rumbling like he tek a double dose of Castor Oil and Epsom salts.
Well said VERLA DePeiza..doan mind that COCKROACH CARSON C CADOGAN…criticize with SENSE and I will have NO PROBLEM…agree and support ANYTHING for the GOOD of YOUR COUNTRY and I will back you 100%.
@MIKE …your COMMENT was superb..I like the part about… “We dun gone technicolor a long, long, long time ago in case nuhbody en tell yuh”…that 30 to NOUGHT MASSACRE got that COCKROACH head spinning…from level headed comments before the WIPE OUT to these ANGRY OUTBURSTS laced with venom and maliciousness.
See how he is at odds with a MEMBER of HIS OWN PARTY because VERLA put COMMON SENSE before IGRUNT STUPID TALK?…but you leff he…just now he gine be down in de ground like a dead COCKROACH with he feet cock up in the air’
Verla like she getting SERIOUS….like she get BOP…like that COCKROACH is the first casualty too.
@Harry Turnover
Tek care the additional criminal courts are not used to lock up the crooked Dems. Well we don’t have to worry about Donville. There’s space for him on Rikers Island up the East River.