Home » Posts » Stepping out of soca

Stepping out of soca

2 min read

Barbadian soca artiste, Summa Davis, is experimenting with her sound this year as evidenced by her recent release, Ting Go Bang Boom.

The high-energy dancehall single which was released on January 31 features Jamaican reggae artiste Yaksta. Written by husband-wife duo Simon and Carlie Pipe and co-written by Jemaul Martin, the single was produced, mixed and mastered by the Purple Jacket Studio front man himself Simon Pipe.

Ting Go Bang Boom marks her third collaboration with Pipe after Tribe of Soca in 2018 and her 2017 release Hotta Than Summa. Her Crop Over 2018 single Tribe of Soca earmarked her presence on the Barbadian soca scene.

The daughter of David Davis – also known as D2.5 – and Bacchanal Time Tent backup vocalist Christine Hinds-Davis has once again captured the attention of the public with Ting Go Bang Boom.

The 23-year-old told Bajan Vibes, her recent single did not mark the end of her love affair with the soca genre but rather she was showing her diversity as an artiste.

“I never thought I would have stepped out of soca because soca has my heart. That is the kind of music I would have grown up listening to but so far so good with the dancehall,” said Summa.

She revealed that she decided to release the track before the Crop Over Festival so it could gain traction and momentum in time for the reggae festival in April. Summa announced that will also be releasing three dancehall-fused tracks in the upcoming weeks.

“I definitely will bring out more dancehall tracks. I am enjoying the vibe right now. It is not too far off from soca and I guess that is why I find it more comfortable,” Summa explained, adding, “With the dancehall, I may be able to get my music reaching countries.”

With the Crop Over Festival three months away, Summa disclosed that she will be working with Barbadian producer/songwriter/soca artiste Fadda Fox (he was the co-write on Tribe of Soca) and listeners can expect collaborations with local and regional artistes.